The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Bases loaded, tie score, bottom of 7th, two outs. Batter is walked.

The rulebooks say that a run counts if it is scored before the 3rd out (with the obvious exceptions).

The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.

The question is: "can something happen that becomes the third out prior to R1 reaching home and thus nulify the winning run?"

Would it make a difference if this happened in the 3rd inning? Suppose R2 runs past 3rd base and is picked off by F2 before R1 touched home? Does the run count - and the inning end.

Rule reference or interpretation, please.

WMB
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1