Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Bases loaded, tie score, bottom of 7th, two outs. Batter is walked.
The rulebooks say that a run counts if it is scored before the 3rd out (with the obvious exceptions).
The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.... WMB
|
WMB -
Try Rule 8-5-A. [page 108] None of the runners are liable to be put out absent misconduct. All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."
Therefore it would only be by USC or some such that would negate the run.
TJ
__________________
_____________________________
TJ
ASA Softball Umpire for Life!
ASA Lifetime Member
ASA, NFHS, NCAA
[IAABO95]
Softball is serious, life is a mere distraction.
http://twitter.com/MASoftballUmpTJ