View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 01:31pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Re: BOB - BL

Quote:
Originally posted by MA Softball Ump
Try Rule 8-5-A. [page 108] None of the runners are liable to be put out absent misconduct. All runners in this sitch are "entitled to advance without liability to be put out..."

Therefore it would only be by USC or some such that would negate the run.
But, no runner is being put out while advancing to the awarded base. The Q is about scoring the run if another runner is put out. Note this in the rule you cite,
Quote:
The ball remains in play ... Any runner affected is entitled to one base and may advance farther at their own risk if the ball is in play
The ball is in play. R2 advances farther. R2 is at risk. R2 is tagged out for the third out. R1 has not yet crossed home.

Does the run score anyway?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote