View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 18, 2005, 11:48am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
The assumption is that R1 is awarded home instantly and the game is over when all runners touch the next base. But I cannot find any rules that would justify that interpretation.
That may be a common assumption, and one that is true 99% of the time, but it is not absolutely true.

Runners who are awarded bases must still run the bases legally (e.g. discussion on the NFHS board regarding a running lane violation in this same situation) and in the case of a BOB, the ball remains live (fastpitch).

ASA Rule 5-3-A (Regulation Game) says, in part,
Quote:
A full seven innings need not be played if the team second at bat scores more runs in six and one-half innings and/or before the third out in the last of the seventh inning, or the run ahead rule is applied.
ASA Rule 5-5-B and C gives various situations in which the run will NOT score, including (5-5-B-2)
Quote:
A runner being put out by tag or live ball appeal play prior to the lead runner touching home plate
So, in your scenario of R2 rounding 3rd and being tagged out before R1 touches home, that is out #3 before the lead runner touches home, so no run scores.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote