View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2005, 05:32pm
Ranger23 Ranger23 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Answer is,

In the original scenerio, according to the only case book which references the situation, the run would still count. It is from the 92 baseball case book, when cross referencing the wording in the rule books the wording reads basicaly the same. The key word is ENTITLED, that means guaranteed regardless of what happens. AT the time of the pitch sets the stage and at the time of the pitch bases were loaded so every one is entitled to the next base. The ball does remain live and the 3rd out was made but not until after the pitch had occured. If the runner fails to touch home you may however get a fourth out on appeal.

The second scenerio, no the runner is not liable to be put out because at the time of the pitch the bases were loaded and with ball 4 came the entitlement to home.
Reply With Quote