The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2004, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,551
Quote:
Originally posted by SamNVa
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
There is no obstruction here. Why? The fielder was in the act of fielding a batted ball.
Tom,

I have to disagree with your last statement. I think that if the ball gets far enough away from the fielder, they are no longer fielding a batted ball, instead they are chasing after a ball, and can be guilty of obstruction if they get tangled up with a runner.

SamC
That is part of the problem. We do not know where the ball was when this occured. If this was just a reach or so and the defender could have easily gained possession of the ball, I would think of this as INT. If the ball literally bounced away from the fielder, it could be obstruction.

This is a play I believe most of us would know what it is when we see it.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2004, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by SamNVa
Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
There is no obstruction here. Why? The fielder was in the act of fielding a batted ball.
Tom,

I have to disagree with your last statement. I think that if the ball gets far enough away from the fielder, they are no longer fielding a batted ball, instead they are chasing after a ball, and can be guilty of obstruction if they get tangled up with a runner.

SamC
Actually, I agree with you Sam. My sentence was in the context of the presented situation, which said,
Quote:
as the 3rd baseman turns to go get the ball they collide
I'm visualizing this as within "step and reach."
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2004, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
To clarify the ball was not within a step and reach of the 3rd baseman. After the deflection it was actually closer to SS. F6 was playing a good ways off the line.

Thanks for all the responses.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1