Thread: Out or not?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 18, 2004, 11:39pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Originally posted by hdsanders
Too me it was incidental contact. Our runner had no way of going around the 3rd baseman. 3rd baseman was fielding the ball in front of the basepath and then when he booted it he turned into the basepath and our runner had no where to go. That was my question, I could not find a ruling.
Seems to me that the fielder was no longer fielding a batted or thrown ball, that there was no intentional interference, that the runner could not avoid the contact.

The way you described the play, I agree, the contact was incidental and the defense should not be rewarded or punished for the subsequent contact. Thus, Jump ball! Train wreck!

However, I wasn't there, but "in the judgement of the umpire...."

Reply With Quote