![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
Rating:
|
Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
That case is the same except for where B4 is put out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
Regarding RS 1.J, I was told:
If BR is out prior to reaching first, no force play. Therefore, if they appeal R1 missed 2nd on her way to 3rd, that is a timing play, so the run would count. If the BR is tagged after reaching 1st base safely, then the force is still on and the appeal on R1 missing 2nd is a force play and if it’s the 3rd out, the run would not count. I'm uncertain how the last sentence in RS 1.J applies, with the wording "batter-runner or trail runner is put out prior to an appeal"; as opposed to the earlier sentence wording "batter-runner is put out prior to reaching first base". Does it say something different, or just further explanation? IOW, does it mean the force is not removed if the BR reaches and now "possesses" 1st, even if out after that before the appeal.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
I am being blocked from replying, but you are getting bad advice. Will try private message response.
Short answer, force play is ALSO removed when any trail runner is put out, not just BR before 1st base.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
|
I find the RS a bit wordy, and it may imply a contradiction, but it isn't. With runners on 1st and 2nd, if a ground ball assist goes to 2nd as the initial play, isn't the force off for R2 headed to 3rd (or to even return to 2nd)? Not different for a subsequent appeal.
I don't have a current casebook, but I remember an ASA case play, where the B/BR/R was thrown out at 2nd stretching a single on a throw to another base, and that removed a force play on a prior runner missing a base (changed it to timing for successful appeal). Added: At best, the language is meant to reinforce that BR not reaching 1st is not, in itself, a force out, so both situations (BR and a trail runner) would remove a force play on a prior/advance runner.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Sat Jun 06, 2020 at 02:46pm. Reason: Added |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| And now for something completely different. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | General / Off-Topic | 3 | Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:34pm |
| And Now for Something Completely Different | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 09:37am |
| NBA ball going completely thru net | hatrick | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jun 05, 2005 06:52pm |
| Now for something completely different... | Dan_ref | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 06, 2005 02:33pm |
| Completely Off-Topic | rainmaker | Basketball | 10 | Tue Aug 13, 2002 01:55am |