The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2020, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
In USA Softball, BR4 being out before the appeal makes it a timing play, after R1 scores.

NFHS and USSSA treat the appeal as a force out, cancelling the run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2020, 01:59pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
In USA Softball, BR4 being out before the appeal makes it a timing play, after R1 scores.

NFHS and USSSA treat the appeal as a force out, cancelling the run.


Cecil:

Please site appropriate Rule and Casebook Play for each Rules set.

Thanks,

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 20, 2020, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Cecil:
Please site appropriate Rule and Casebook Play for each Rules set.
Thanks,
MTD, Sr.
USA 8.7.G, RS 1.J

NFHS 8-6-7, no case

USSSA - under "runner is out" in Rule 8(?)
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 21, 2020, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
NCAA, no run scores, still treated as a force play.

12.10.1 EFFECT

All rules sets, EXCEPT USA, rule on an appeal based on the time of the violation (was it a force out when the base was missed?). USA RS 1 (J) states the difference in philosophy, to be ruled based on the time of the appeal; thus subsequent play that erases a trail runner removes the force play in USA.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 25, 2020, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 287
[NFHS] 9-1-1d. The OP's play is very close to the case book play 9.1.1 situation O.

AtlUmpSteve
has the correct summary.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 01, 2020, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob View Post
[NFHS] 9-1-1d. The OP's play is very close to the case book play 9.1.1 situation O.

AtlUmpSteve
has the correct summary.
Good point on Rule 9, Bob. I have to admit I rarely look at Rule 9.
That case is the same except for where B4 is put out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2020, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Regarding RS 1.J, I was told:
If BR is out prior to reaching first, no force play. Therefore, if they appeal R1 missed 2nd on her way to 3rd, that is a timing play, so the run would count.
If the BR is tagged after reaching 1st base safely, then the force is still on and the appeal on R1 missing 2nd is a force play and if it’s the 3rd out, the run would not count.

I'm uncertain how the last sentence in RS 1.J applies, with the wording "batter-runner or trail runner is put out prior to an appeal"; as opposed to the earlier sentence wording "batter-runner is put out prior to reaching first base".

Does it say something different, or just further explanation?
IOW, does it mean the force is not removed if the BR reaches and now "possesses" 1st, even if out after that before the appeal.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
And now for something completely different. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. General / Off-Topic 3 Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:34pm
And Now for Something Completely Different Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 2 Mon Mar 06, 2006 09:37am
NBA ball going completely thru net hatrick Basketball 12 Sun Jun 05, 2005 06:52pm
Now for something completely different... Dan_ref Basketball 2 Sun Mar 06, 2005 02:33pm
Completely Off-Topic rainmaker Basketball 10 Tue Aug 13, 2002 01:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1