![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
Rating: ![]() |
Display Modes |
|
|
|||
And now for something completely different: Does the Run score?
To take COVID-19 off of our minds for a bit, Mark, Jr., and I present the following play to the Softball Forum:
Play: R1 at 3B and R2 at 1B; 1 out. B4 hits a gapper. R1 scores. R2 misses 2B and stops at 3B. B/R4 is tagged out between 1B and 2B (after R1 has scored). Defense properly appeals that R2 missed 2B. Does the R1's Run score? Please differentiate between NFHS, NCAA, USA Softball, and USSSA rulings. Thank you and let the fun begin. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
In USA Softball, BR4 being out before the appeal makes it a timing play, after R1 scores.
NFHS and USSSA treat the appeal as a force out, cancelling the run.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Cecil: Please site appropriate Rule and Casebook Play for each Rules set. Thanks, MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
NFHS 8-6-7, no case USSSA - under "runner is out" in Rule 8(?)
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
NCAA, no run scores, still treated as a force play.
12.10.1 EFFECT All rules sets, EXCEPT USA, rule on an appeal based on the time of the violation (was it a force out when the base was missed?). USA RS 1 (J) states the difference in philosophy, to be ruled based on the time of the appeal; thus subsequent play that erases a trail runner removes the force play in USA.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
With further reading (prompted by a friend), RS 1.J says
that when a batter runner is retired “PRIOR” to reaching 1st, then all force plays are eliminated RS 1.J also says "Therefore, if the batter-runner or trail runner is put out prior to an appeal, the out on the appeal will not be considered a force out." I think that means the appeal out in this play is not a force out, so the run counts. Please comment.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
And now for something completely different. | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | General / Off-Topic | 3 | Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:34pm |
And Now for Something Completely Different | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 09:37am |
NBA ball going completely thru net | hatrick | Basketball | 12 | Sun Jun 05, 2005 06:52pm |
Now for something completely different... | Dan_ref | Basketball | 2 | Sun Mar 06, 2005 02:33pm |
Completely Off-Topic | rainmaker | Basketball | 10 | Tue Aug 13, 2002 01:55am |