![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If she was not out by interfering with F3 catching the fly ball, then she was retired when the ball became fair, but by then, she was passed F3 and she did not interfere with F3 after that. That's the only way you are getting two outs, and they didn't happen. Read my earlier post on the two options, either interference on BR, dead ball, she is out (1 out); or no BR interference, but BR out on infield fly, and runner is safe at home. And I don't care if BR interfered or not (again, I don't think she did), but either way, getting two outs on the play is wrong. |
|
|||
Take a look at this. Seems there are a couple of plays that might shed a little light on this conversation.
https://www.teamusa.org/usa-softball...34F77D1AD&_z=z |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() My observations: The second play (runner interference), why would we need the Infield fly rule, when 8 7 J F covers the runner interference on either a fair or foul ball (both Runner and BR are out). 8 7 J F precludes any necessity for ball status for USA Softball (other codes are different). In the third play (batter-runner interference), this seems to be covered under 8 2 F 1. Again, ball status is not needed. Using either rule in each scenario gives you have the same effect. |
|
|||
TB21 - haven't heard if you've reconsidered this scenario. Thoughts?
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post Ted, I'm late to the party on this hypothetical, but I think KR's ruling is accurate, if there are no outs. 2 outs and a run go in the book. If there was one out, that leaves the open question: Can a run score on a play where the third out of the inning is due to INT and the BR does not reach 1B safely? Hey TB21, you made me think on this one, so I'm going to return the favor. When I think too much, I need to go back to the book. 5.5.B No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of: 1. A BR being called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. In our TWP, (and assuming already 1 out) when the BR interferes, she becomes the second out. Umpire determines her INT was an attempt to prevent a double play. But the runner from third has already touched home prior to the INT, so the next runner closest to home is at second base. Now do we score the run?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Replying to Ted as a placeholder as I go on vacation tomorrow and will not be able to get in the book
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
You make the Call | iowasoftballump | Softball | 12 | Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:12pm |
What call would you make? | RANCHMAN | Basketball | 29 | Sat May 31, 2008 02:02am |
Make the Call ...... | Ref Daddy | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:39pm |
You make the call! | Trojans73 | Baseball | 7 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 03:53pm |
What call would you make? | Gre144 | Baseball | 9 | Fri May 18, 2001 02:21pm |