The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 25, 2019, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,212
Was this handled correctly?

I had this during the week in a Co-wRECk game.

R1 at 3rd, R2 at 2nd, R3 at third, 0 out. B4 hits a pop up on the infield which both F2 and F3 have could catch with ordinary effort (if they weren't expecting the other to catch it). Ball lands untouched in fair territory. R1 takes off for home, touches the plate before the on deck batter (at the urging from the dugout, starts heading back towards third base, retouching the plate (unintentionally) as she goes. R2 had already headed to 3rd base on the play, while R3 stayed on first base. The defense throws the ball to the pitcher who runs after R3 before throwing F6 who is going to tag the now returning to 2nd base R2 if the throw got to him. Instead the throw goes into CF where the only defensive player who had a clue was backing up the throw, preventing R1 who is now on third base again from trying to come home again.

In the end we ended up with R1 on 3rd, R2 on second, and R3 on first with B4 out on the IFF.

After the inning the coach came up and questioned if R3 should have counted because she had come home. I told him that once she returned retouched the plate and returned to third she had put herself back on the bases. Was I correct?

like I said, this was low level co-wRECk softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 25, 2019, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Once the runner legally scored, which she did because the ball was uncaught and there was no possible appeal on her she cannot unscore herself. The only question you have to answer now was now that she was a retired runner, did her actions by attempting to return to 3rd base interfere with the defenses ability to play on another runner.
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handled Correctly? RSturgell Basketball 60 Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:33pm
Handled correctly ? Refk Basketball 28 Wed Nov 07, 2012 02:17pm
Was this handled correctly? rwest Basketball 3 Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:17am
Was this handled correctly? Jack Basketball 30 Sat Feb 14, 2009 09:04am
Don't think i handled this correctly but.... largeone59 Baseball 5 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:21pm

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1