The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 09, 2019, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,291
Whose call

Runners on 1st and 2nd, batted ball to right side, between F3 playing in and F4 playing normal depth. Batted ball hits R2 at a greater depth than F3, less depth than F4.

As the ball went between F3 and F4, is the call of primary opportunity to make a play decided by the PU or the BU in C slot?

NFHS if it matters.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 09, 2019, 09:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Runners on 1st and 2nd, batted ball to right side, between F3 playing in and F4 playing normal depth. Batted ball hits R2 at a greater depth than F3, less depth than F4.

As the ball went between F3 and F4, is the call of primary opportunity to make a play decided by the PU or the BU in C slot?

NFHS if it matters.
I had this situation in an elimination game in a tournament a couple of years ago. I was BU. Defense was in a bunt defense posture with runners on first base and second base.

Lefty slap hitter faked a standard bunt and then pulled a ball past F3 which then hit R2 in the foot. PU called an immediate dead ball and R2 out and awarded BR first base. R1 back to second base.

I was awaiting some kind of argument from the offense's coach but it never came. So we played on.

After the game, I asked my partner about the call. There was no doubt about the ball hitting the runner. But I asked if he thought F4 would have been able to make a play on the ball. He said he didn't think so. I asked if he recalled where F3 was playing when the batter hit the ball. At that point I think his light bulb turned on and he realized that he probably should have let the play continue.

To answer the OP's question, I think it may depend upon who had a clear view of the action. PU would have a good view of F3/F4 and their relative horizontal positions. BU may have a superior view of the depth of the fielders. So whomever thinks they have a good view of the play would make a call if necessary.

Once my partner called a DB, all action ceased. Had the offense protested, I think we could have fixed it even if the defense wouldn't have liked it. But since no complaints, I let it go until our post game.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Tue Apr 09, 2019 at 09:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 10, 2019, 03:59pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,287
That's gotta be the PU's call. I don't see how the BU in "C" is going to be able to tell that F4 had a shot at making the play or not. It's not going to be very credible if he/she makes the call when the PU has a better look at F4's position and movement toward the ball. The only way I see the BU calling it is if it's blatantly obvious she could make the play (e.g., she's leaning down to field it and not shifting laterally with speed), and the PU just has a brain cramp.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 11, 2019, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
That's gotta be the PU's call. I don't see how the BU in "C" is going to be able to tell that F4 had a shot at making the play or not. It's not going to be very credible if he/she makes the call when the PU has a better look at F4's position and movement toward the ball. The only way I see the BU calling it is if it's blatantly obvious she could make the play (e.g., she's leaning down to field it and not shifting laterally with speed), and the PU just has a brain cramp.
Let's keep in mind that from the OP, the correct call here might be no call.

Lots of players, coaches, and some umpires will be very quick to make the dead ball call when a batted ball hits a runner. But sometimes, given the position of the fielders, no call should be made at all.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 11, 2019, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,291
I tried to be as clear as possible, but not that far apart just different depth, so one or the other had a play
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2019, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 723
IMHO, this is PU primary call in 2-man, and I am OK with BU coming in with INT if PU passes on it and BU is 10,000% sure.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
World Series call/no call discussion SWFLguy Softball 24 Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:15pm
State Playoffs - Call or No Call Blindolbat Basketball 33 Sun Mar 10, 2013 08:19am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1