Thread: Whose call
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 09, 2019, 09:04pm
Tru_in_Blu Tru_in_Blu is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,230
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Runners on 1st and 2nd, batted ball to right side, between F3 playing in and F4 playing normal depth. Batted ball hits R2 at a greater depth than F3, less depth than F4.

As the ball went between F3 and F4, is the call of primary opportunity to make a play decided by the PU or the BU in C slot?

NFHS if it matters.
I had this situation in an elimination game in a tournament a couple of years ago. I was BU. Defense was in a bunt defense posture with runners on first base and second base.

Lefty slap hitter faked a standard bunt and then pulled a ball past F3 which then hit R2 in the foot. PU called an immediate dead ball and R2 out and awarded BR first base. R1 back to second base.

I was awaiting some kind of argument from the offense's coach but it never came. So we played on.

After the game, I asked my partner about the call. There was no doubt about the ball hitting the runner. But I asked if he thought F4 would have been able to make a play on the ball. He said he didn't think so. I asked if he recalled where F3 was playing when the batter hit the ball. At that point I think his light bulb turned on and he realized that he probably should have let the play continue.

To answer the OP's question, I think it may depend upon who had a clear view of the action. PU would have a good view of F3/F4 and their relative horizontal positions. BU may have a superior view of the depth of the fielders. So whomever thinks they have a good view of the play would make a call if necessary.

Once my partner called a DB, all action ceased. Had the offense protested, I think we could have fixed it even if the defense wouldn't have liked it. But since no complaints, I let it go until our post game.
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Tue Apr 09, 2019 at 09:06pm.
Reply With Quote