The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 06, 2017, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
Runner's lane question 2

The sit I raised at the end of the other thread of this name, happened tonight at the end the Wash/Chicago game.
D3K, F3 sets up in foul ground to take the throw from F2, B/R clearly running in fair territory gets plunked square in the back. INT.
F2 would've had no problem getting the out with an accurate throw (to foul side). I know, not relevant.

I'm looking for a ruling for NCAA, with no safety base. Can she run in fair ground if F3 sets up foul and the throw is coming from foul without fear of INT (like double-bag rulesets)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 07, 2017, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
either:

1 a very difficult question

2 a very stupid question

Im banking on 2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 09, 2017, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 770
In NCAA, I have an out for INT on the BR. This applies both under the "current" ruleset (which has no runner's lane) or under the upcoming 2018-2019 rules.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
thanks for that, teebob... the only reason I even bring it up is that ASA makes the point of spelling out the exception.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
thanks for that, teebob... the only reason I even bring it up is that ASA makes the point of spelling out the exception.
To what exception are you referring?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
Not an exception per se, but paraphrasing, ASA (and PONY) indicates that, when F3 is set up in foul ground (guess that means on the orange bag, so that should answer the question right there), and the throw comes from foul ground, the BR may choose to use fair ground (and the white bag) without fear of INT
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,424
What is "ASA" ?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
HAH... sorry. :\ last time I called an ASA/USA game, it was ASA...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Not an exception per se, but paraphrasing, ASA (and PONY) indicates that, when F3 is set up in foul ground (guess that means on the orange bag, so that should answer the question right there), and the throw comes from foul ground, the BR may choose to use fair ground (and the white bag) without fear of INT
So here's the thing; NFHS acknowledges that there may be a double bag (if state allows), but makes no rules relating to it. NCAA does not allow it.

So, the basic rule is that the only place to be without risk of interference (just because of the location) is in the one and only running lane.

Realistically, except in the instance where runner and throw cross paths in a "good" throw, it would be rare that interference should be applied on what would generally be an errant throw as I visualize what you are asking.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 647
goes without saying (so I'll say it anyway), BR can't go wrong by just running in the dang Lane, so just do it.

The MLB game (hate to reference it) had F3, right foot on the bag, left foot way foul, ready for the throw from foul ground. Zimmerman, running way fair, hit square in the back.

F2 could've easily gotten an out with a quality throw, but this way, he potentially got runner(s) to return to their base(s).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runner's Lane Question Manny A Softball 13 Wed Oct 04, 2017 09:12am
Batter/Runner Outside Running Lane blueump Baseball 8 Sun Apr 16, 2006 09:03am
Question on lane violation Damian Basketball 10 Wed Feb 09, 2005 06:53pm
FT Lane Question... JohnBark Basketball 1 Sun Feb 15, 2004 08:23pm
Another FT Lane Question Hawks Coach Basketball 16 Thu Jan 09, 2003 06:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1