The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2017, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago area, Illinois
Posts: 71
Send a message via ICQ to falsecut Send a message via AIM to falsecut Send a message via Yahoo to falsecut
DP mechanics

4-6-3 double play attempt. Who has primary responsibility for R1 potentially interfering at second base in two umpire system? Only runner is the one on first.

Side question. Fed rules. Runner on first. Ball hit to 2B who shovels ball to SS for force. SS throws ball to first. Throw is away but retired runner runs into SS's glove arm forcefully (not malicious). Throw doesn't get BR; it's bad. I realize this is a HTBT play but what factors might you use in your judgment?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2017, 11:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marshall, MI
Posts: 379
U1 has primary responsibility for the interference.

Factor in judging whether there is interference...if there was a slide...no slide more likely to judge interference...timing, how close it was to the throw, did the SS make an adjustment during the throw to avoid the runner and did the runner interfere, your own judgment (most likely you will have to explain your call or non-call to a coach).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2017, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
4-6-3 double play attempt. Who has primary responsibility for R1 potentially interfering at second base in two umpire system? Only runner is the one on first.
In the 2013 ASA NUS in Lewiston, ME, we were told by Jim Craig that the PU has responsibility to call INT at second base on a double play ball.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2017, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
4-6-3 double play attempt. Who has primary responsibility for R1 potentially interfering at second base in two umpire system? Only runner is the one on first.

Side question. Fed rules. Runner on first. Ball hit to 2B who shovels ball to SS for force. SS throws ball to first. Throw is away but retired runner runs into SS's glove arm forcefully (not malicious). Throw doesn't get BR; it's bad. I realize this is a HTBT play but what factors might you use in your judgment?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
HTBT, eh? OK, let's walk through my thought process here.

1) The throw is away cleanly before contact and the runner did nothing to make the throw poor? No INT; a retired runner must interfere with the play being made in order to rule INT.
2) The retired runner remains on her feet and contacts the fielder non-maliciously? Still no INT.

This play probably looks bad, and in a close game, I'm probably going to have a conversation with the defensive coach to explain the no call. I'm also going to warn the runner. There is no room for initiating unneeded physical contact with another player in this game.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2017, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
In the 2013 ASA NUS in Lewiston, ME, we were told by Jim Craig that the PU has responsibility to call INT at second base on a double play ball.
Yes; and yes.

If there is no throw to first, the base umpire is in the best position to make a credible call of runner interference.

But, if a throw (or throw attempt) takes BU's head to first for the (presumably close) play there, THEN the PU has to be watching the remainder of the play and interaction at second; and be prepared to rule interference if appropriate.

This is case where PU may several responsibilities all at once; a possible lead runner around third, possible runner from third touching the plate, interaction on the batted ball with defensive players and runners, interaction at second on the front end of the double play effort, and a possible pulled foot or swipe tag at first base on the back end.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2017, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
In the 2013 ASA NUS in Lewiston, ME, we were told by Jim Craig that the PU has responsibility to call INT at second base on a double play ball.
Maybe, but definitely not absolute. BU has the calls at 2nd & 1st. If the PU sees a runner interfere, s/he should be damn sure of what they are calling from 25-30 yards away when the BU is right there.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 08, 2017, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
Side question. Fed rules. Runner on first. Ball hit to 2B who shovels ball to SS for force. SS throws ball to first. Throw is away but retired runner runs into SS's glove arm forcefully (not malicious). Throw doesn't get BR; it's bad. I realize this is a HTBT play but what factors might you use in your judgment?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If the throw was away and unaffected, it is nothing
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 09, 2017, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
Throw is away but retired runner runs into SS's glove arm forcefully (not malicious). Throw doesn't get BR; it's bad.Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Are you implying that, although the contact happened after release, the runner's presence altered the throw?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 09, 2017, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Are you implying that, although the contact happened after release, the runner's presence altered the throw?
Why not? Basketball gives a player 2 free throws if contact is made after the fact the ball was released
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 09, 2017, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Chicago area, Illinois
Posts: 71
Send a message via ICQ to falsecut Send a message via AIM to falsecut Send a message via Yahoo to falsecut
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Are you implying that, although the contact happened after release, the runner's presence altered the throw?
I'm really trying to get ideas on what to look for in this kind of situation and who should look for it and so forth. I'm not looking for confirmation that the right call was made or not made. All of you would have gotten this call perfectly correct I just was looking for how you would have arrived at your conclusion.
__________________
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 09, 2017, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why not? Basketball gives a player 2 free throws if contact is made after the fact the ball was released
I wasn't saying should or should not, just asking if the OP meant that.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 10, 2017, 10:54am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Why not? Basketball gives a player 2 free throws if contact is made after the fact the ball was released
Oooh boy, I don't know of too many coaches that are going to accept that as a rationale for calling INT!

Quote:
Originally Posted by falsecut View Post
I'm really trying to get ideas on what to look for in this kind of situation and who should look for it and so forth. I'm not looking for confirmation that the right call was made or not made. All of you would have gotten this call perfectly correct I just was looking for how you would have arrived at your conclusion.
It's entirely possible that the SS was affected by the proximity of the runner coming in standing up, so you would have to look for evidence of that (e.g., just as she's about to throw, she turns her head or body away). Short of that, if contact happened after the ball was released, you really can't say that the contact caused the errant throw.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 man mechanics parepat Football 21 Fri Aug 27, 2010 01:00pm
Four man mechanics clev1967 Softball 17 Thu May 14, 2009 01:15pm
NCAA Mechanics, NFHS Rules/Mechanics InvisibleRef Basketball 4 Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06am
5-man mechanics on KO (Fed) TXMike Football 9 Mon Jul 28, 2003 01:28am
ASA mechanics oppool Softball 11 Fri Jun 27, 2003 05:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1