The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Escondido
Posts: 2
Dropped ball in windup

Our pitcher dropped the ball while in her windup. There was a runner on 1st base. The ump didn't call dead ball. The runner on 1st went to 2nd and we got her out. The ump said it was a ball and sent her back to 1st. She should have been out, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Go Box View Post
Our pitcher dropped the ball while in her windup. There was a runner on 1st base. The ump didn't call dead ball. The runner on 1st went to 2nd and we got her out. The ump said it was a ball and sent her back to 1st. She should have been out, right?
USA or NFHS:
No.

Dropped ball during the pitch, if that is what you mean by windup, is like any pitch, live ball - ball for the batter (unless she swings) - runners can advance.
Assume you are talking about accidental, not deliberate/
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Go Box View Post
Our pitcher dropped the ball while in her windup. There was a runner on 1st base. The ump didn't call dead ball. The runner on 1st went to 2nd and we got her out. The ump said it was a ball and sent her back to 1st. She should have been out, right?
More information required to give a completely accurate answer. This depends completely on the definition of when a pitch begins.

1) What set of rules?

NFHS (high school) says the pitch starts with any motion associated with a pitch, so it is a pitch, ball on the batter, live ball, play on. The runner's attempt to advance is at her own risk.

USA/ASA would ask if the "windup" you reference was before or after the mandatory "touch" of the hands; if before, it is a live ball, and nothing else. If after, it is a pitch, it is a ball on the batter, and a live ball.

No rules set that I know of would put the runner back on first.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Escondido
Posts: 2
That's what I thought too. The runner that went to 2nd should have been out since we threw to 2nd and got her out. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 12:50pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Go Box View Post
That's what I thought too. The runner that went to 2nd should have been out since we threw to 2nd and got her out. Right?
As others have said, it is a live ball, so any base advances or outs made are legal. The runner in your game should have been ruled out.

The only exception would be if the umpire judged that the pitcher intentionally dropped the ball; then, an illegal pitch would be declared.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Welcome to the forum, Go Box.
What you see above is typical of responses, mine cryptic/brief; Steve's more detailed and always precise.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped Ball After Tag harmbu Baseball 19 Mon May 18, 2009 07:39pm
Intentionally dropped ball, or not? Yuri10 Baseball 7 Fri Mar 28, 2008 02:51pm
Dropped fly ball deernut_00 Softball 6 Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:18pm
dropped ball kbaerslt Baseball 6 Fri Feb 14, 2003 01:07pm
Dropped ball robert Baseball 7 Sat Jul 27, 2002 06:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1