View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 06, 2017, 12:50pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Go Box View Post
That's what I thought too. The runner that went to 2nd should have been out since we threw to 2nd and got her out. Right?
As others have said, it is a live ball, so any base advances or outs made are legal. The runner in your game should have been ruled out.

The only exception would be if the umpire judged that the pitcher intentionally dropped the ball; then, an illegal pitch would be declared.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote