The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 207
Dropped Ball After Tag

FED. R1 is stealing second. The throw arrives ahead of the runner and F4 applies the tag. As F4 is lifting his glove to show that he has the ball, R1's helmet contacts the glove and the ball comes out. BU calls the out. After the inning, BU was asked if he stayed with the out because R1 knocked the ball out after the tage. BU says that he did not see the second contact, but he had the out because F4 controlled the ball throughout the tag. He said that F4 did not have the voluntarily remove the ball from his glove after a tag like he would have had to do after a catch.

Any opinions.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
FED. R1 is stealing second. The throw arrives ahead of the runner and F4 applies the tag. As F4 is lifting his glove to show that he has the ball, R1's helmet contacts the glove and the ball comes out. BU calls the out. After the inning, BU was asked if he stayed with the out because R1 knocked the ball out after the tage. BU says that he did not see the second contact, but he had the out because F4 controlled the ball throughout the tag. He said that F4 did not have the voluntarily remove the ball from his glove after a tag like he would have had to do after a catch.

Any opinions.

Yes - the umpire was correct.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 01:38pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
the varitek play comes to mind here
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 207
Thanks

Thanks. I agreed with the umpire but the opposing coach said "that is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 01:54pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
Thanks. I agreed with the umpire but the opposing coach said "that is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard."
typical
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 02:23pm
d26 d26 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
No coach, that award goes to your AD, school board, and/or principal, and was a statement containing at least one of the following - hired, approved, appointed, confirmed, selected, picked, or no one else wanted to be...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
I fully understand the confusion, because you have two different sets of obligations on balls in the glove. One for fly balls, and one for tags of players and bases. You've got the voluntary release, and just control. It's not logical, but it is the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Great State of North Carolina
Posts: 170
A good sales job would have helped him.
__________________
Warren
www.umpire-empire.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
You could really go either way on this one (like the varitek play).

It's a hard sell with the ball on the ground...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emperor Ump View Post
A good sales job would have helped him.
Amen to that.

I really had to sell a similar call this past weekend, with a BIG "on the transfer" mechanic, with an OUT on either side of it. It worked.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by d26 View Post
No coach, that award goes to your AD, school board, and/or principal, and was a statement containing at least one of the following - hired, approved, appointed, confirmed, selected, picked, or no one else wanted to be...
If only baseball was a lucrative industry, there would be more of a devotion to finding competent instructors at the prep level.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 11, 2009, 09:39pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu View Post
Thanks. I agreed with the umpire but the opposing coach said "that is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard."
Coaches say the darndest things. Had a batter swing at a pitch with 2 strikes this weekend and the pitch hit him in the leg. He runs to 1B. Coach's argument was "but the catcher did not catch the pitch".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 12, 2009, 12:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 150
Selling the call is key here. You have an obvious out on the tag. Even with good timing, the ball may get dislodged on a secondary empitus on the play. Key being secondary. Come up big with "that's an out on the tag, that's an out." I doubt the HC will challenge it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 17, 2009, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to aceholleran
The CS&FP rulebook says: "After a 'good' tag for an out, if the fielder voluntarily raises his glove to show you the rock and loses the ball, do not change your call."

And I speak of the "empitus of love."

Ace
__________________
There is no such thing as idiot-proof, only idiot-resistant.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 12:05am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by aceholleran View Post

And I speak of the "empitus of love."

Ace
Whoa, slow down there, Space Cowboy!
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentionally dropped ball, or not? Yuri10 Baseball 7 Fri Mar 28, 2008 02:51pm
Intentionally Dropped Ball tobaccoroad14 Softball 6 Fri Jun 17, 2005 02:35pm
Dropped fly ball deernut_00 Softball 6 Sun Apr 25, 2004 10:18pm
dropped ball kbaerslt Baseball 6 Fri Feb 14, 2003 01:07pm
Dropped ball robert Baseball 7 Sat Jul 27, 2002 06:10am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1