![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
This player is a substitute. The game started with nine in the batting order; they need to end the game with nine in the batting order. The late arrival is a legal rostered player, so she can be added to the lineup as a sub at any time, and can be entered into the game for any player.
The player completed at turn at bat without reporting. Since she got on base, and a pitch was thrown to the next batter, the late arrival is legally in the game in the #3 position in the order. There is no penalty. Any advance of any runners is legal. B4 is the correct batter with whatever the current count is.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." Last edited by teebob21; Fri Sep 09, 2016 at 10:15am. |
|
|||
|
Here is my question:
When they put the new arrival in to bat, did the team just move everybody else down a spot in the order? In other words, new girl (Mary) shows up after game starts, Player listed as #3 batter (Sally) hasn't come to bat yet. Did the coach tell Mary to bat third, then Sally to bat fourth, and so on down the order? If this is what happened, now you have not only an unreported sub (Mary) but an illegal player (Sally) since Mary and Sally are both in the game on offense at the same time. Of course, these are the book rules. It sounds as if this local league/tournament was a bit lax on lineup rules, so I would suggest placing Sally in the third spot, moving everybody else down a spot, and play on....now if the opposing coach really wanted to push it, you would have to revert to the book rules.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Our local leagues state that the late arriving player should be added to the bottom of the order with no penalty.
__________________
Red meat is not bad for you. Fuzzy green meat is bad for you. |
|
|||
|
Yes, Andy. They put the late arrival in the batting order @ #3.
Thank everyone for your input. This is one of those object lessons you wish did not occur. When you become lax on some things, later negative happenings grow like chewing a gristled steak. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Consider for example, if the coach told you that she had told Sally to bat for the 7th spot. Do you have batting out of order and the 8th batter called up? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
All the responses have been centered on the book rules, which I don't disagree with. My response of inserting the player in the lineup and moving on was based on THIS SPECIFIC SITUATION, which was a local league/tournament with somewhat lax lineup rules and enforcement of such. That was my inference from the OP....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Note, the OP's issue wasn't that she was added (which cannot happen in championship play), but that she wasn't added to the bottom!!
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Lineup Mgt | jmkupka | Softball | 32 | Tue Mar 31, 2015 02:50am |
| R2 and lineup card | jodibuck | Volleyball | 4 | Wed Oct 01, 2014 07:46pm |
| How late is too late (foul call) | MelbRef | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:13am |
| Illegal Lineup? | gymwhite | Volleyball | 11 | Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:41pm |
| Lineup with a DH | tarheelcoach | Baseball | 17 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 12:45am |