![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Why would you call time with "active" runners?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
How else are you going to handle it? Irish wants me to leave the field. The coach wants to appeal BOO. The BR is standing next to home plate celebrating. Is this like a ball everybody else thinks is fair where we're going to stand there waiting for the girl to either run to first or head into the dugout and do nothing?
|
|
|||
In ASA, isn't this a straight-up OUT. No appeal required. Ump has to call the out. Rule 8, Section 2, item D.
Rule 8, SECTION 2 – THE BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT.......... D. When a batter-runner fails to advance to first base and enters the team area after: 1. A batted fair ball. 2. (Fast Pitch or Slow Pitch with Stealing) A base on balls. 3. A dropped third strike. 4. Catcher Obstruction Exception: (Slow Pitch) …………………….. I would guess there will be some (maybe a lot) debate about "enters the team area" which she did not do, but she clearly failed to advance to first base and demonstrated she had no intention of ever doing so.. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
OK, the umpire will have to hang out and see if after the celebration she goes to touch 1st base. If she never does touch the bag and eventually enters the team area, the umpire will make the out call at that time and call all the players back onto the field for the 8th inning.
I'm fine with that position, but the key then is that the umps would have to wait and see. They can't leave the field like they could if this was an appeal situation. PLAY 8.1-3 (ASA 2012 Case Plays) With one out, bases loaded and the score tied in the bottom of the seventh, B5 walks on four pitches bringing in the winning run. B5 joins in the celebration and is reminded to go to 1B by a coach. The defense appeals (a) that B5 was out of the base path, (b) that B5 was aided by a coach while the ball was in play, and (c) that B5 did not go directly to 1B. The umpires rule all runners safe once the batter-runner reaches 1B. RULING: In (a), there is no penalty for leaving the base path since B5 was not avoiding a tag. In (b) verbal instructions are not considered aiding the runner. In (c) B5 did not enter the dugout or leave the field of play, so there is no penalty. In all cases, the run counts and the game is over. (8-1C) Last edited by josephrt1; Wed Apr 20, 2016 at 05:46pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Thu Apr 21, 2016 at 08:34am. Reason: Edited to acknowledge the possibility of a player making an appeal. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bases loaded walk | fdt92 | Softball | 50 | Sun Apr 22, 2018 08:11am |
bases loaded walk | CecilOne | Softball | 17 | Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:00pm |
Bases loaded walk... | jmkupka | Softball | 32 | Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm |
Bases Loaded Walk... | mightymoose_22 | Baseball | 37 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm |
Bases Loaded... | mrm21711 | Baseball | 5 | Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm |