![]() |
|
|
|||
Bases Loaded Walk Ends Game (or does it?)
I'm looking for an NFHS reference, but would also be interested in the ruling for others.
Bottom of the seventh, tie score, bases loaded, two outs. Batter receives ball four. All base runners advance to the next base. But the batter-runner goes about halfway to first and then... Of course, if she goes into the dugout she's out and no run scores. But what if she stops and comes directly back toward the plate area, lining up to shake hands since the winning run has apparently scored and the game is apparently over. Does this become an appeal situation for the defense, or is this a situation where the umpire can automatically call her out? What rule or interpretation would cover this? |
|
|||
All bases must be touched legally and this would be an appeal situation. Must be appealed before defense leaves the field. Not sure what rule this is but someone with a book handy will post it I'm sure.
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the answer to these questions is "no", then my partner and I am headed toward the parking lot. The way I'm reading 4.2.1, the game is over at the point the winning run scores. Maybe that could be stated better, but that's what it reads.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Why would you call time with "active" runners?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
How else are you going to handle it? Irish wants me to leave the field. The coach wants to appeal BOO. The BR is standing next to home plate celebrating. Is this like a ball everybody else thinks is fair where we're going to stand there waiting for the girl to either run to first or head into the dugout and do nothing?
|
|
|||
In ASA, isn't this a straight-up OUT. No appeal required. Ump has to call the out. Rule 8, Section 2, item D.
Rule 8, SECTION 2 – THE BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT.......... D. When a batter-runner fails to advance to first base and enters the team area after: 1. A batted fair ball. 2. (Fast Pitch or Slow Pitch with Stealing) A base on balls. 3. A dropped third strike. 4. Catcher Obstruction Exception: (Slow Pitch) …………………….. I would guess there will be some (maybe a lot) debate about "enters the team area" which she did not do, but she clearly failed to advance to first base and demonstrated she had no intention of ever doing so.. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bases loaded walk | fdt92 | Softball | 50 | Sun Apr 22, 2018 08:11am |
bases loaded walk | CecilOne | Softball | 17 | Thu Aug 20, 2015 12:00pm |
Bases loaded walk... | jmkupka | Softball | 32 | Fri May 24, 2013 05:47pm |
Bases Loaded Walk... | mightymoose_22 | Baseball | 37 | Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:05pm |
Bases Loaded... | mrm21711 | Baseball | 5 | Mon May 29, 2006 05:09pm |