The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2016, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 47
Look back on walk

This happened to a fellow official and he asked me about it. Walked batter runs to first, rounds, stops, goes back to first. Pitcher has ball in circle. Ump says safe. Defensive coach requests time, talks with ump, call is changed to out. What say you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2016, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
A walked batter has all the same rights as a batter who has hit the ball. As long as they did not stop on 1st base with the pitcher having possession of the ball in the circle, they may round, stop, continue on or return to 1st base.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2016, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Was this NFHS?

Did you look it up?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 47
ASA, not NFHS. Did not look it up. I told him the same thing that RKBUmp said.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
What was the ump's reason for changing the call (incorrectly as stated)?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
ASA, not NFHS. Did not look it up. I told him the same thing that RKBUmp said.
Why won't you look it up? RKBUmp might be wrong. ( he isn't)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 20, 2016, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 47
CecilOne--After listening to the coach, he concluded the runner should not have stopped. I explained the look back rule says the runner can stop once, then immediately advance or return to a base. He knew the rule but apparently the "walk" got in the way of his thinking.

jwwashburn--Didn't say I would not look up the rule (when I get a new rule book) but I do appreciate the input from others. P.S. RKBUmp just confirmed what I had already told him.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Walk-off Walk Situation JJ Baseball 12 Sun Mar 28, 2010 07:42pm
Walk? bigzilla Basketball 15 Thu Feb 03, 2005 10:48am
Here's another walk/no walk decision..... Jeremy Hohn Basketball 3 Mon Dec 09, 2002 10:51pm
Look back rule on a walk Dakota Softball 7 Fri Oct 26, 2001 04:05pm
Look back rule with a walk Dakota Softball 10 Thu Aug 23, 2001 04:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1