![]() |
Look back on walk
This happened to a fellow official and he asked me about it. Walked batter runs to first, rounds, stops, goes back to first. Pitcher has ball in circle. Ump says safe. Defensive coach requests time, talks with ump, call is changed to out. What say you?
|
A walked batter has all the same rights as a batter who has hit the ball. As long as they did not stop on 1st base with the pitcher having possession of the ball in the circle, they may round, stop, continue on or return to 1st base.
|
Was this NFHS?
Did you look it up? |
ASA, not NFHS. Did not look it up. I told him the same thing that RKBUmp said.
|
What was the ump's reason for changing the call (incorrectly as stated)? :confused:
|
Quote:
|
CecilOne--After listening to the coach, he concluded the runner should not have stopped. I explained the look back rule says the runner can stop once, then immediately advance or return to a base. He knew the rule but apparently the "walk" got in the way of his thinking.
jwwashburn--Didn't say I would not look up the rule (when I get a new rule book) but I do appreciate the input from others. P.S. RKBUmp just confirmed what I had already told him. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am. |