![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Back to #1. No receiving team member in the area. Your wording makes it sound like an "illegal touch" would have been called. Am I misunderstanding? |
|
|||
I saw the play in question. My understanding (I'm not an official, just a fan), there isn't a requirement for the ball to touch the ground before the K team touches it, but by hitting the ground, the ball doesn't go far and pops into the air.
As far as the offsides, watching the replay, I think the officials called the wrong number. There was another player that was 2-3 players down from the called offender that was further off IMO. |
|
|||
Quote:
By kicking the ball into the ground on the typical onsides kick, the kicking team satisfies the touching-the-ground requirement and gets the added bonus of making the ball bounce to a height where it won't be able to be fielded by the receiving team until it crosses ten yards... in theory. In practice, it takes a lot of practice to execute an onsides kick successfully, and a lot of things can go wrong. Unless you're a team that only onsides kicks, you'll likely only do it a couple times a season and fail both. Honestly, I wish the rules could be tweaked a little so that the success rate would be higher. They're exciting plays, if the payoff were better, they would probably be attempted more often. |
|
|||
Quote:
Doesn't the ball touching the ground also eliminate a possible fair catch signal? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() NFHS - Yes. NCAA - No, a new rule this year just for onside kicks allows receivers to fair catch a onside kick after it has touched the ground once and bounced up into the air.
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
Is that only for free kicks? Or scrimmage kicks as well?
|
|
|||
Are you sure, Rich? My 2013-14 book has 6-4-1-f in blue, indicating that it is new this year.
"During a free kick a player of the receiving team in position to receive the ball has the same kick-catch and fair-catch protection whether the ball is kicked directly off the tee or is immediately driven to the ground, strikes the ground once and goes into the air in the manner of the ball kicked directly off the tee."
__________________
Never trust an atom: they make up everything. |
|
|||
That's not after any bounce though, right? It's just if it bounces because it's kicked directly into the ground. If it bounces 10 yards down the field, no fair catch?
|
|
|||
Quote:
AR 2-12-5-I
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Yes, it would have been called, and probably signaled by the covering official (look for the official to touch his fingers to his shoulders). But, illegal touching doesn't get flagged. It's rarely announced by the WH unless something else happens during the play and the illegal touching requires special enforcement rules to be applied.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Onside kick | rngrck | Football | 8 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 09:32pm |
Onside Kick | Florida Rookie | Football | 6 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 08:34pm |
Onside Kick | BigGref | Football | 16 | Mon Mar 15, 2004 08:37pm |
Onside kick question... | slippery rock | Football | 7 | Wed Oct 22, 2003 10:17am |
onside kick question | ase | Football | 9 | Tue Oct 21, 2003 12:48pm |