The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 09, 2013, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I was just sloppy, and therefore, wrong. It's the neutral zone or behind for A touching a kick -- you're absolutely correct. The ENZ applies to B blocking a scrimmage kick only. And obviously when considering ineligibles downfield on a pass play.
So did the officials "kick" this one? Or is there a distinction in this case between A76's being touched by, and A76's touching, the ball? Or a "forced touching" provision that applies to team A?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2013, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
The 'Extended Neutral Zone' is a 'buffer area' (for lack of a better term) that allows the kicking team's lineman (and presumably on non-kicks too) to continue their blocks and still be considered in the NZ.
Please cite the rule reference for this.

Last edited by Texas Aggie; Tue Sep 10, 2013 at 05:25pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone explain.... Rodical Basketball 12 Thu Feb 25, 2010 07:31am
How to explain ChampaignBlue Softball 26 Tue Feb 02, 2010 08:34pm
How to explain ASA 8.1.B - D3K? wadeintothem Softball 10 Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:54am
A difficult call to make, and more difficult to explain MJT Football 19 Sat Jan 29, 2005 11:06am
Can anyone explain? williebfree Basketball 12 Thu Dec 05, 2002 07:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1