The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 27, 2013, 08:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
You may be interested in how the discussion has gone there --
CoachHuey.com . The position I'd taken is the same as jTheUmp's above, based on the fact that nobody is officially on team A's line until there's a snapper, .....
That's not true. The LOS is established when the U spots the ball. It doesn't have anything to do with when the snapper touches the ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 28, 2013, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Quote:
nobody is officially on team A's line until there's a snapper
That's not true. The LOS is established when the U spots the ball. It doesn't have anything to do with when the snapper touches the ball.
The lines of scrimmage themselves are established then, but by Fed 2-25-2...
Quote:
An offensive player is on his line of scrimmage when he complies
with the position requirements of a lineman.
...and by 2-32-9...
Quote:
A lineman is any A player who is facing his opponent’s goal line with
the line of his shoulders approximately parallel thereto and with his head or foot
breaking an imaginary plane drawn parallel to the line of scrimmage through the
waist of the snapper when the ball is snapped.
Unfortunately Fed has provisions applying to linemen of A between the time the ball is ready for play and the time the snap begins, but, unlike NCAA, no definition of lineman during that interval if you take the above literally. It being inconceivable that Fed has such rules that could never have application, one must assume there to be some way to qualify a team A player as on his line during that interval. Since a player of A who touches the ball with a hand during that interval is not allowed to let go of it, eventually that player will snap the ball unless it becomes not ready for play first (or unless some other player of A also puts a hand on the ball and eventually snaps it out of the first one's grasp--another can of worms). Therefore it seems reasonable to consider that player the snapper from that instant on (which is explicit in NCAA), and so from that instant a player of A can be on his line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 28, 2013, 05:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
7.1.6 SITUATION B: Snapper A1 is positioned over the ball following the ready
signal, but has not yet placed his hand(s) on it. Either: (a) A2; or (b) B1, breaks
the plane of the neutral zone. Both players adjust their position and get behind the neutral zone; or (c) A1 has a hand on the ground and then stands erect to call out
a blocking assignment. RULING: No infraction in either (a), (b) or (c). In (c), the
snapper is not restricted as are other linemen after placing a hand on or near the
ground. (7-1-7c)


This particular case play makes it sound like he is the snapper by his stance over the ball and the other line have been established.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight

Last edited by bigjohn; Tue May 28, 2013 at 05:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 28, 2013, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
The lines of scrimmage themselves are established then, but by Fed 2-25-2...

...and by 2-32-9...

Unfortunately Fed has provisions applying to linemen of A between the time the ball is ready for play and the time the snap begins, but, unlike NCAA, no definition of lineman during that interval if you take the above literally. It being inconceivable that Fed has such rules that could never have application, one must assume there to be some way to qualify a team A player as on his line during that interval. Since a player of A who touches the ball with a hand during that interval is not allowed to let go of it, eventually that player will snap the ball unless it becomes not ready for play first (or unless some other player of A also puts a hand on the ball and eventually snaps it out of the first one's grasp--another can of worms). Therefore it seems reasonable to consider that player the snapper from that instant on (which is explicit in NCAA), and so from that instant a player of A can be on his line.
Hey Robert, what BigJohn said! LOL!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A rise in offensive shifts designed to make the defense encroach. BigBaldGuy Football 20 Tue Oct 09, 2012 05:27pm
Another lawsuit involving bats NCASAUmp Softball 25 Tue May 22, 2012 11:25am
Shifts newref1 Football 13 Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:26pm
Shifts,Motions and Illegal touching U52 Football 7 Tue Sep 23, 2008 09:46pm
Snapper Protection don16954 Football 7 Mon Nov 12, 2001 01:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1