![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Checked out NFL rule 9-1-17(exception 2): "If the receiving team commits a foul after the ball is kicked (ball crosses the scrimmage line) during a scrimmage down and the receivers possess and keep the kicked ball, the penalty for their infraction will be ruled as a foul after possession (post-possession)..."
So fouls by R prior to the kick crossing the neutral zone are treated like loose ball fouls. Fouls by R after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone come under PSK if the other requirements are met. This would also cover double fouls and whether R can decline K's foul and still retain possession of the ball after PSK enforcement of R's foul. Okay, I'm comfortable with this but is it legal for NF? Is the NF interpretation posted anywhere yet?
__________________
Mike Simonds |
|
|||
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Ed Hickland
[B] Quote:
[B][QUOTE] Ed, you made a boo-boo ![]() What you've described is not the ENZ (expanded neutral zone). What you are describing is the FBZ (free blocking zone). Big differance I know you know. The NZ is the space between the two scrimmage lines during a scrimmage down and is as wide as the length of the ball. The neutral zone may be expanded following the snap up to a maximum of 2 yards behind the defensive line of scrimmage, in the field of play during a scrimmage down. (Remember the ENZ doesn't extend into the EZ) |
|
|||
[QUOTE]Originally posted by James Neil
[B][QUOTE]Originally posted by Ed Hickland [B] Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
2003 NFHS Rules Interpretations
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Mike Simonds
Checked out NFL rule 9-1-17(exception 2): "If the receiving team commits a foul after the ball is kicked (ball crosses the scrimmage line) during a scrimmage down and the receivers possess and keep the kicked ball, the penalty for their infraction will be ruled as a foul after possession (post-possession)..." So fouls by R prior to the kick crossing the neutral zone are treated like loose ball fouls. Fouls by R after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone come under PSK if the other requirements are met. This would also cover double fouls and whether R can decline K's foul and still retain possession of the ball after PSK enforcement of R's foul. Okay, I'm comfortable with this but is it legal for NF? [QUOTE] Yes, the result of the play is the same under 2003 NFHS Rules, as long as all the conditions of NFHS PSK requirments are met! [QUOTE] Is the NF interpretation posted anywhere yet? [QUOTE] I just spoke with "Kim" at the NFHS office. Kim said the 2003 interpretations will be posted on their website by the end of this week. You should be able to view them at: http://www.nfhs.org/sports/football_interp.htm
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Okay, I'm looking forward to getting the interpretations. Makes sense to me: on a scrimmage kick possession changes when the kick crosses the expanded neutral zone. Just for fun I posted my own play example on the NF discussion board. There is still disagreement out there so the interpretation will be much welcome.
__________________
Mike Simonds |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|