[QUOTE]
Originally posted by Mike Simonds
Checked out NFL rule 9-1-17(exception 2): "If the receiving team commits a foul after the ball is kicked (ball crosses the scrimmage line) during a scrimmage down and the receivers possess and keep the kicked ball, the penalty for their infraction will be ruled as a foul after possession (post-possession)..."
So fouls by R prior to the kick crossing the neutral zone are treated like loose ball fouls. Fouls by R after the kick has crossed the expanded neutral zone come under PSK if the other requirements are met.
This would also cover double fouls and whether R can decline K's foul and still retain possession of the ball after PSK enforcement of R's foul.
Okay, I'm comfortable with this but is it legal for NF?
[QUOTE]
Yes, the result of the play is the same under 2003 NFHS Rules, as long as all the conditions of NFHS PSK requirments are met!
[QUOTE]
Is the NF interpretation posted anywhere yet?
[QUOTE]
I just spoke with "Kim" at the NFHS office. Kim said the 2003 interpretations will be posted on their website by the end of this week. You should be able to view them at:
http://www.nfhs.org/sports/football_interp.htm