View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 27, 2003, 09:18pm
sm_bbcoach sm_bbcoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Talking time to jump in

Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
[B]Tell me if you agree with it. Here's the play.

Fourth and 10 on team K's 35 yardline. At the snap, K2 is illegally in motion. K1 punts. While ths kick is airborne and well beyond the line, R5 illegally blocks below the waist at team K's 45 yardline. The kick is caught is caught by R2 on his 30 and advanced to his 40.

Now here is the NFHS ruling: Because both teams fouled before a change of possession. the fouls offset and the down is replayed from team K's 35 yardline .
** I agree that NF has it wrong. I am under the belief that once the ball crosses the ENZ {expanded neutral zone} possesion has changed. The kicking team has thoughtfully given the ball away. PSK allows them to continue to give the ball away. IN this play, PSk exists. R declines K's foul, penalize the ill block. Game on and no problems....


Give NF the cudos it needs for adding this in. The one where NF needs to really look at is the same play, but R5's block is BEFORE the kick happens. Now, K gave up the ball, but since it happened before it crossed the ENZ, now you get into the dbl foul, wipe out kick, replay down.

Thanks for the spirited debate!! I think I just might have a handel on PSK. I have been reading, re-reading it ect...
THANKS!!!
Reply With Quote