The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2012, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref1973 View Post
Ok so you guys saying R's ball, how do you reconcile the fundamental statement:

When R is first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the NZ, a new series is awarded to the team in possession at the end of the down.
Does ineligible receiver downfield come into play here? More than likely the center at the least will release to cover kick.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2012, 10:25am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51 View Post
Does ineligible receiver downfield come into play here? More than likely the center at the least will release to cover kick.
More than likely.

Once again, the NCAA rule is superior and prevents this craziness.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2012, 10:31am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Guys, these case plays get real convoluted once we start deviating from the original post. Its easy to lose track of which play we are discussing.

The simple rule of thumb an old WH taught me is that once R touches a scrimmage kick beyond the NZ, its going to be a "first down for somebody at the end of the down". That somebody is normally the team in possession at the end of the down.

Remember, K can advance a muffed scrimmage kick behind the LOS, even if touched beyond and it rebounds back. They may then run, or pass or kick again behind the LOS. The LOD provision will not apply due to the new series being awarded.

And of course there will be the inevitable USC on R's head coach after you've gone and tried to explain all this to him.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2012, 12:40pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51 View Post
Does ineligible receiver downfield come into play here? More than likely the center at the least will release to cover kick.
No. Under NFHS all K players may go downfield before, during, or after the kick. No restrictions. 7-5-6
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2012, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike51
Does ineligible receiver downfield come into play here? More than likely the center at the least will release to cover kick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
No. Under NFHS all K players may go downfield before, during, or after the kick. No restrictions. 7-5-6
I believe Mike51 is questioning does Inelligibles Downfield apply on the pass thrown by K/A in the OP. I would say that all passing rules are in affect.
OP by Ref1973 ... NFHS: K punts from the 50, R21 muffs at the R 45. Kick rolls back to the K40, where K21 picks up the ball, then throws a forward pass to the R20 where it falls incomplete. What ya got?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 06, 2012, 01:07pm
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by ump33 View Post
I believe Mike51 is questioning does Inelligibles Downfield apply on the pass thrown by K/A in the OP. I would say that all passing rules are in affect.
Of course you're right, how silly of me.

Yes, since this is a legal forward pass, all passing restrictions (eligibility, interference) are in effect.

Note that, even if K avoids IED, they are likely to run afoul of the PI restrictions, which apply to the passing team from the snap until the pass is touched or is incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2012, 10:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
Yes, since this is a legal forward pass, all passing restrictions (eligibility, interference) are in effect.

Note that, even if K avoids IED, they are likely to run afoul of the PI restrictions, which apply to the passing team from the snap until the pass is touched or is incomplete.
I don't think so. Usually they'd be trying to avoid contact beyond the neutral zone, not to cause it. They'd only start throwing blocks if they were aware that the ball had come back into possession of a K player. The ineligibles downfield would be a much likelier foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force play or tag play dsbrooks1014 Baseball 3 Tue Apr 21, 2009 09:09pm
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1