The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake Orion, MI
Posts: 33
Free Kick Play

NFHS Rules.

During a kickoff, K1 is forced out of bounds by R1 at the 50. While still out of bounds and attempting to re-enter the field of play, K1 is contacted by R2 at the R45. After the contact, K1 stays out of bounds and re-enters the playing field at the R30. What do you have?

Thanks!

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fedex View Post
NFHS Rules.

During a kickoff, K1 is forced out of bounds by R1 at the 50.
No problem ... K1 was blocked/forced out

Quote:
While still out of bounds and attempting to re-enter the field of play, K1 is contacted by R2 at the R45.
Still no problem on K, he is attempting to re-enter at his first opportunity. Play does not state that R went out of bounds to block K, so no foul on R

Quote:
After the contact, K1 stays out of bounds and re-enters the playing field at the R30.
Oops, from the R45 to the R30 and the play states "K1 stays OB". That does not sound like first opportunity ... Illegal Participation on K1 when he returns inbounds at the R30.

Enforcement depends of the status of the ball when K1 returned inbounds (9-6-1).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by ump33 View Post
Enforcement depends of the status of the ball when K1 returned inbounds (9-6-1).
I believe you're saying that enforcement will depend on whether the foul occurs before or after R gains possession (whether the kick has ended). The basic spot will be the previous spot for the former (loose ball play), or the end of the run for the latter (running play).

But I would add that whether you have a foul also depends on a different status of the ball when K1 returned to the field. If the ball was dead, he couldn't have participated.

It's also worth remembering that, although the spot of the foul in this case is where K1 re-entered the field, the foul is for participating, not merely re-entering.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake Orion, MI
Posts: 33
Just some clarification...

R2 did contact K1 out of bounds, before he could return.

When K1 did return to the field of play, R3 had possession of the ball and the play was still live.

The reason I am asking is that I had this play happen to me and I am wondering if I got it right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fedex View Post
Just some clarification...

R2 did contact K1 out of bounds, before he could return.

When K1 did return to the field of play, R3 had possession of the ball and the play was still live.

The reason I am asking is that I had this play happen to me and I am wondering if I got it right.
What did K1 do after returning to the field? Where was R2 when the contact occurred?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2012, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lake Orion, MI
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
What did K1 do after returning to the field? Where was R2 when the contact occurred?
K1 came back into the field of play, but really didn't have an impact on the play.

R2 was a step out of bounds and K1 was fully out of bounds when the contact occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 08, 2012, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I believe you're saying that enforcement will depend on whether the foul occurs before or after R gains possession (whether the kick has ended). The basic spot will be the previous spot for the former (loose ball play), or the end of the run for the latter (running play).

But I would add that whether you have a foul also depends on a different status of the ball when K1 returned to the field. If the ball was dead, he couldn't have participated.

It's also worth remembering that, although the spot of the foul in this case is where K1 re-entered the field, the foul is for participating, not merely re-entering.
I hear this a lot when talking about IP, but its when he steps back on field the foul has occured, not only if he " does something"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 08, 2012, 11:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawktalk View Post
I hear this a lot when talking about IP, but its when he steps back on field the foul has occured, not only if he " does something"
Not if he stepped out intentionally (which would be rare). Then he's guilty of IP merely for participating.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 09, 2012, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
Not if he stepped out intentionally (which would be rare). Then he's guilty of IP merely for participating.
Not sure what you are saying. If he intentionally steps out, you have a hat down, not a flag. If he doesnt re-enter field during the down, there is no foul
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 09, 2012, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawktalk View Post
I hear this a lot when talking about IP, but its when he steps back on field the foul has occured, not only if he " does something"
No, mere reentry is not IP. PARTICIPATING (at all) is required for illegal participation.

Imagine the play nearing it's end on the other sideline, our OOB WR walks back onto the field, or even jogs back on while heading to his own sideline --- if he is not involved in the play and no one from the other team reacts to him, he has not participated.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 09, 2012, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
No, mere reentry is not IP. PARTICIPATING (at all) is required for illegal participation.

Imagine the play nearing it's end on the other sideline, our OOB WR walks back onto the field, or even jogs back on while heading to his own sideline --- if he is not involved in the play and no one from the other team reacts to him, he has not participated.
I would like to see NFHS clarify 9-6-1 and 9-6-2. The letter of the rule, especially 9-6-2, states that it's a foul to return to the field. "No player shall intentionally go out of bounds during the down and: (a) Return to the field."

However, the concept and philosophy of illegal participation is that merely stepping on the field, with nobody else around, is not participation and does not warrant a flag. Provided that one understands 'participation' broadly enough — not just catching a pass, but also occupying a blocker, for instance — it's reasonable to require the player who went OOB to participate before penalizing his team 15 yards for illegal PARTICIPATION.

Between that and the slippage about what constitutes "intentionally" going OOB, this rule needs some editorial revision. I'd be happy to consult, if you're reading this post, NFHS rules committee members.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 09, 2012, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
No, mere reentry is not IP. PARTICIPATING (at all) is required for illegal participation.

Imagine the play nearing it's end on the other sideline, our OOB WR walks back onto the field, or even jogs back on while heading to his own sideline --- if he is not involved in the play and no one from the other team reacts to him, he has not participated.
OK, so if receiver A1 intentionally goes out of bounds, A2 catches ball, as A1 re-enters field, then blocks, where is the flag down? Where he re-enters or where he blocks? I agree with poster above, the foul occurs when he steps back onto the field, now what he does after that, unless that, is also illegal. I also get "philosophy" says we turn our head unless he "does something"...but what if that is 30 yards down the field?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Free Kick Play: Ball comes to rest in end zone... HawkeyeCubP Football 4 Wed Dec 07, 2011 03:32pm
Drop kick on Free kick, on 40 or behind it? airraider Football 6 Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:43am
Free Kick Play Bob M. Football 30 Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:34pm
Free Kick - Move ball after Ready for Play? CruiseMan Football 3 Sun Sep 24, 2006 12:55pm
TXMike's Free kick play ABoselli Football 1 Sat Dec 07, 2002 07:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1