![]() |
|
|
|||
Just some clarification...
R2 did contact K1 out of bounds, before he could return. When K1 did return to the field of play, R3 had possession of the ball and the play was still live. The reason I am asking is that I had this play happen to me and I am wondering if I got it right. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
R2 was a step out of bounds and K1 was fully out of bounds when the contact occurred. |
|
|||
I've got 15 on R, nothing on K.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Under NFHS? For what? No rule -- or at least no provision of 9-4 -- prohibits R from blocking K in this case.
Indeed, if you're going to flag R here, you MUST flag K, since K is clearly participating by occupying a blocker! And, as a game management issue: if K1 has run 15 yds downfield and OOB in order to get in on this play, I'm not flagging R for a hit that's 6 inches OOB and getting K off the hook for IP.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
As far as K1 goes, he ran right through the restricted area until he got to the R30 and then re-entered the playing field. He did not run through the bench area at all. To be honest, I don't believe K1 or R2 knew where the heck they were on the field. |
|
|||
Quote:
9-6-2 ... No player shall intentionally go out of bounds during the down and: a. Return to the field; b. Intentionally touch the ball; c. Influence the play; or d. Otherwise participate. Quote:
9-6-1 . . . Prior to a change of possession, or when there is no change of possession, no player of A or K shall go out of bounds and return to the field during the down unless blocked out of bounds by an opponent. If a player is blocked out of bounds by an opponent and returns to the field during the down, he shall return at the first opportunity. Double Foul, offset and replay the down. Last edited by ump33; Tue Jul 31, 2012 at 08:05am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I see your point later in the play - after running 15 yards out of bounds, if he comes in and occupies a blocker, he could be flagged for IP (play going the other way is not enough to rule it out -- but if the play ended very shortly after K re-entered, I'd not flag it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
I just can't see flagging R here but giving K a pass, since K's illegal actions occasioned R's.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Sorry ... neglected to answer this part. If R left the field and blocked, then he's guilty of IP as well. 9-6, not 9-4.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Yep, I see that now. I was looking at the provision of the IP rule that prohibits A/K from leaving the field (9-6-1 rather than 9-6-2), and addressing the idea that R hitting K OOB might be a PF (hence the reference to 9-4).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
If the K player occupies a blocker, then his illegal act has affected the play and gained K an advantage. That's illegal participation, and it needs to be flagged. I get that many people don't like the NFHS rule here, but that's a separate issue.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
No initial foul on K1 because he was blocked to out of bounds. It sounds as though R2 was out of bounds illegally who then participated. Flag for Illegal Participation. If K1 used the out of bounds area to his advantage, then I have Illegal Participation on him as well.
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NCAA Free Kick Play: Ball comes to rest in end zone... | HawkeyeCubP | Football | 4 | Wed Dec 07, 2011 03:32pm |
Drop kick on Free kick, on 40 or behind it? | airraider | Football | 6 | Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:43am |
Free Kick Play | Bob M. | Football | 30 | Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:34pm |
Free Kick - Move ball after Ready for Play? | CruiseMan | Football | 3 | Sun Sep 24, 2006 12:55pm |
TXMike's Free kick play | ABoselli | Football | 1 | Sat Dec 07, 2002 07:19pm |