![]() |
|
|
|||
A: by rule, this is an illegal shift. Early in the game, I'd warn, then flag. If the QB motion causes B to encroach, I'll flag FS.
B: provided they do all this without hitting 25 seconds, deceiving B into thinking no snap is imminent, and A comes set before the snap, this is legal. There is no restriction on the QB after going under the snapper.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Not yet. They can still get set before the snap. If they don't, it's a flag at the snap.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
True. The OP omitted to say "...and the ball is snapped..." in both plays. For the questions to have much interest, one must assume that the ball has been snapped during the motion.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
B specifically mentions the snap and when it occurs. I've seen guys flag this immediately (and then catch hell - from coaches, crew chiefs, supervisors, etc). In A, I've seen people flag this too, and then not blow it dead. Just trying to clarify.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The penalty for the illegal movement of two players is an Illegal Shift, which is a live ball foul. There is no reason to blow the play dead, if both players (as well as the rest of the team) were to stop moving, and pause for 1 full second, before the snap, there's been no foul. It only becomes a foul if the movement continues to the snap.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
I may have misunderstood your comment above, "In A, I've seen people flag this too, and then not blow it dead. Just trying to clarify.", to suggest the play should be blown dead, where as rereading it might also suggest the flag being thrown immediately is premature.
|
|
|||
No, I think the original poster was fishing in situation A for whether it was a false start. NFL has an...uh..."interesting" supplemental note regarding a player who has put his hands under the snapper or simulates doing so by putting them on his own knees or the snapper's butt.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 7 Section 4, Article 2 Item 4: Player Under Center. It is legal for a player who has taken a position under or behind the center to go in motion, whether he has placed his hands under center, on his knees, or on the body of the center. However, it is a false start if the action is quick and abrupt, or if the player fails to come to a complete stop prior to the ball being snapped.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Advantageous 4th out in D-backs game | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 10 | Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:17am |
Come backs for Coaches | MidMadness | Basketball | 26 | Sat Sep 06, 2008 04:08pm |
Camel Backs??? | PanamaCityBrian | Baseball | 20 | Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:59pm |
Motioning of Backs. | J.Thurman | Football | 8 | Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:40am |
Looking at Backs | rainmaker | Basketball | 45 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 09:54am |