![]() |
|
|
|||
Kickoff question
Ball is kicked near the sideline on a kickoff. The returner before catching the ball has one foot out of bounds and the other foot in-bounds, as soon as he catches and possesses the kicked ball the official blows the play dead. My question is "is ball spotted where caught or is this a out of bounds violation"?
Any help would be appreciated. |
|
|||
6.1.8 SITUATION C: R1 is running near a sideline as he attempts to catch a free
kick in flight. R1 has: (a) both feet inbounds; or (b) one foot on the sideline, when he reaches through the plane of the sideline. The ball bounces off his hands and lands out of bounds. RULING: In (a), the ball is not yet out of bounds until it hit the ground there. Since R1 touched it, he caused it to go out of bounds and R will have the ball at the inbounds spot. In (b), since R1 is out of bounds when the ball is touched, the kicker has caused the ball to be out of bounds.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
(c) one foot on the sideline, when he into the field of play, touching the grounded ball that is completly inbounds and almost at rest. Is it a kick out of bounds or is R the "offender"?
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
What makes the ball out of bounds?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Not a foul is ball has yet to touch the ground. But the play is blown dead at that spot. If after the ball bounces, Illegal Participation.
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Penalty on kickoff? | buckrog64 | Football | 4 | Sat Aug 29, 2009 05:09am |
NF Kickoff Question | jwaz | Football | 2 | Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:45am |
kickoff | dallas | Football | 1 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:13am |
Kickoff | Green | Football | 16 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:50pm |
kickoff | yankeesfan | Football | 25 | Wed Aug 04, 2004 08:46pm |