The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
I also say the runner was down before the pass.

ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended:
a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is
stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch
the ground.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?
Don't you have anything better to do than to regurgitate the same crap you used to post over on the NFHS Forum? (and any other forum you can get your hands on)


Edit -- Also regurgitated from this forum in 2007.

Last edited by asdf; Fri Sep 23, 2011 at 11:03am. Reason: Also regurgitated from this forum in 2007.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
What part of his body was touching the ground before the ball was released?


is held so his forward progress is
stopped

Mike there are 3 ways to be down, no?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:13am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
I know you're trolling, but I can't resist...
If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
and since the ball was dead.

USC on A's QB

ART. 2 . . . When the ball becomes dead in possession of a player, he shall not:
a. Intentionally kick the ball.
b. Spike the ball into the ground.
c. Throw the ball high into the air or from the field of play or end zone.
d. Intentionally fail to place the ball on the ground or immediately return it to
a nearby official.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 12:14pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
R throws a flag for IG, and then his second flag for USC.

So not only are we taking away a touchdown, we are going to enforce a loss of down, and then 15 more yards on top of that, giving: 4D/31 @ B-35.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
I know you're trolling, but I can't resist...
If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).
BJ is more than capable of being an idiot completely on his own... you don't have to help. In this case, you're simply wrong - so great job supporting his case. Congrats.

(Can't find where you're wrong and your sitch does not fit the rule? Look for the word "held" in that rule if you can't.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Here's the deal... The wording of the rule is wrong. BJ has pointed that out (about 12 times). He is right that the wording of this rule, to be completely correct, needs the word "incomplete" in the table section of the rule.

There. I've just agreed with BJ.

I think I just threw up a little.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:24am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
is held so his forward progress is
stopped

Mike there are 3 ways to be down, no?
It's a judgement call. Judgement is something that all of us use every week. It's something which is refined and hammered and polished week in, and week out by those of us who work hard to do so.

It's also something you obviously lack.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).
the rule says, " held" so that his forward progress is stopped.

I know it is a judgement call but don't you think he was stopped? Would you defend that call?


There are other illegal forward passes besides GROUNDING!
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight

Last edited by bigjohn; Fri Sep 23, 2011 at 11:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:29am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?
John, I know you're smarter than this.

For there to be Intentional Grounding, the ball has to hit the ground -- IOW, incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
John, I know you're smarter than this.

For there to be Intentional Grounding, the ball has to hit the ground -- IOW, incomplete.
That is not correct. It is a foul to intentionally throw a forward pass into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver. It does not matter if the ball hits the ground.

4th down, A12 intentionally throws to an area not occupied by an eligible receiver. B20 catches the pass, runs and fumbles the ball. A recovers.

A12 fouled when he threw the pass. B will accept the penalty, down will not be repeated. B will take the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
bigjohn:


the rule says, " held" so that his forward progress is stopped.
__________________________________________________ _______________

1) At what point was the QB "held"....even for a split second...? He was spinning out of the tackle, and almost escaped. I can almost assure you that you and your crew would have the record for IW's if you ever wore the stripes, judging by your stance here.

2) Again....would someone please start a badminton thread so BJ can apply some real insight to something.

3) Suppose we had a HC tackle at the goal line too BJ...? Shoot us some insight. Your comments are better than the Sunday comics.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2011, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
you could make a case for ball being dead before the pass,
No, you can't. There's argument and advocacy, and then there's stupidity. Don't confuse them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mary Struckhoff Announces Resignation from NFHS Staff CecilOne Softball 11 Wed Nov 02, 2011 01:05pm
The obligatory 4th out... bdub712 Baseball 9 Mon May 22, 2006 04:42pm
Off topic - Hail to the .... tomegun Basketball 16 Mon Jan 16, 2006 09:35am
Interesting comments from Mary Struckoff. JRutledge Basketball 49 Wed Jul 27, 2005 03:05pm
LSU Hail Mary: An Infraction? Husker John Football 2 Tue Nov 12, 2002 11:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1