The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Obligatory 16 yard Hail-mary video (https://forum.officiating.com/football/80993-obligatory-16-yard-hail-mary-video.html)

Larks Fri Sep 23, 2011 09:47am

Obligatory 16 yard Hail-mary video
 
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/tVlYCha0d48" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:08am

1. ILLEGAL FORWARD PASS
a. Pass after team possession has changed a: END
during the down. Loss of 5 Yards OF
b. Pass from beyond the neutral zone. RUN
c. Pass intentionally thrown into an area not b, c, d and e:
occupied by eligible offensive receiver. Loss of 5 yards
d. Pass intentionally thrown to save loss of and
yardage or conserve time. Loss of Down
EXCEPTION: It is legal to conserve time by
intentionally throwing the ball forward to
the ground immediately after receiving a
direct hand-to-hand snap.
e. A second or subsequent forward pass
during the down


I think table 7-5-2 d should be edited to say "incomplete" just like rule 7-5-2d does.

jTheUmp Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:22am

What's your point?

Nothing in this video could possibly lead you to believe this is an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding.

APG Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:29am

Really confused with what any of what you posted bigjohn has to do with the video. :confused:

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:43am

By what is in the table it would be an illegal pass. It was thrown to save time or yardage, in the rule the word "incomplete" makes it a legal pass because even though the pass was thrown to save a sack it was not incomplete. I am saying if you only looked at the table with this play you could rule IG.

CT1 Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789268)
I am saying if you only looked at the table with this play you could rule IG.

The term "Intentional Grounding" implies that the ball hit the ground, genius.

TXMike Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:47am

Coach - Are you trying to say the pass was illegal as it would have been called int grounding IF it had fallen incomplete? IF a frog had wings he wouldn't be dragging his butt on the ground.

You are way too literalistic on the rules

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:52am

I also say the runner was down before the pass.

ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended:
a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is
stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch
the ground.

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:53am

I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?

MNBlue Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:57am

I don't think bigjohn is contesting the ruling from the video. I think he is pointing out an editorial error in the rulebook.

Rule 7-5-2-d states:
Quote:

A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save a loss of yardage or to conserve time.
Table 7-5-2-d states:
Quote:

A pass intentionally thrown to save loss of yardage or to conserve time.
I don't believe anyone would ever rule the play in the video as IG, but there are officials who read the rule book literally and may inexplicably rule it IG.

The table should be edited to reflect the rule.

TXMike Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789275)
I also say the runner was down before the pass.

ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended:
a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is
stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch
the ground.

What part of his body was touching the ground before the ball was released?

asdf Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigjohn (Post 789279)
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?

Don't you have anything better to do than to regurgitate the same crap you used to post over on the NFHS Forum? (and any other forum you can get your hands on)


Edit -- Also regurgitated from this forum in 2007.

bigjohn Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:06am

Quote:

What part of his body was touching the ground before the ball was released?


is held so his forward progress is
stopped

Mike there are 3 ways to be down, no?

bob jenkins Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 789280)
I don't think bigjohn is contesting the ruling from the video. I think he is pointing out an editorial error in the rulebook.

Rule 7-5-2-d states:


Table 7-5-2-d states:


I don't believe anyone would ever rule the play in the video as IG, but there are officials who read the rule book literally and may inexplicably rule it IG.

The table should be edited to reflect the rule.

Isn't (almost) EVERY pass INTENTIONALLY thrown to avoid loss of yardage? ;)

jTheUmp Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:13am

I know you're trolling, but I can't resist...
If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1