The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,104
Obligatory 16 yard Hail-mary video

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
1. ILLEGAL FORWARD PASS
a. Pass after team possession has changed a: END
during the down. Loss of 5 Yards OF
b. Pass from beyond the neutral zone. RUN
c. Pass intentionally thrown into an area not b, c, d and e:
occupied by eligible offensive receiver. Loss of 5 yards
d. Pass intentionally thrown to save loss of and
yardage or conserve time. Loss of Down
EXCEPTION: It is legal to conserve time by
intentionally throwing the ball forward to
the ground immediately after receiving a
direct hand-to-hand snap.
e. A second or subsequent forward pass
during the down


I think table 7-5-2 d should be edited to say "incomplete" just like rule 7-5-2d does.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:22am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,249
What's your point?

Nothing in this video could possibly lead you to believe this is an illegal forward pass or intentional grounding.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:29am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Really confused with what any of what you posted bigjohn has to do with the video.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
By what is in the table it would be an illegal pass. It was thrown to save time or yardage, in the rule the word "incomplete" makes it a legal pass because even though the pass was thrown to save a sack it was not incomplete. I am saying if you only looked at the table with this play you could rule IG.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:46am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I am saying if you only looked at the table with this play you could rule IG.
The term "Intentional Grounding" implies that the ball hit the ground, genius.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Coach - Are you trying to say the pass was illegal as it would have been called int grounding IF it had fallen incomplete? IF a frog had wings he wouldn't be dragging his butt on the ground.

You are way too literalistic on the rules
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
I also say the runner was down before the pass.

ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended:
a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is
stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch
the ground.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
I don't think bigjohn is contesting the ruling from the video. I think he is pointing out an editorial error in the rulebook.

Rule 7-5-2-d states:
Quote:
A pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save a loss of yardage or to conserve time.
Table 7-5-2-d states:
Quote:
A pass intentionally thrown to save loss of yardage or to conserve time.
I don't believe anyone would ever rule the play in the video as IG, but there are officials who read the rule book literally and may inexplicably rule it IG.

The table should be edited to reflect the rule.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I also say the runner was down before the pass.

ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes dead and the down is ended:
a. When a runner goes out of bounds, is held so his forward progress is
stopped or allows any part of his person other than hand or foot to touch
the ground.
What part of his body was touching the ground before the ball was released?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I am just saying the word INCOMPLETE is in the rule but not the table. If the word INCOMPLETE was not in the rule would you say this is IG?
Don't you have anything better to do than to regurgitate the same crap you used to post over on the NFHS Forum? (and any other forum you can get your hands on)


Edit -- Also regurgitated from this forum in 2007.

Last edited by asdf; Fri Sep 23, 2011 at 11:03am. Reason: Also regurgitated from this forum in 2007.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
What part of his body was touching the ground before the ball was released?


is held so his forward progress is
stopped

Mike there are 3 ways to be down, no?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
I don't think bigjohn is contesting the ruling from the video. I think he is pointing out an editorial error in the rulebook.

Rule 7-5-2-d states:


Table 7-5-2-d states:


I don't believe anyone would ever rule the play in the video as IG, but there are officials who read the rule book literally and may inexplicably rule it IG.

The table should be edited to reflect the rule.
Isn't (almost) EVERY pass INTENTIONALLY thrown to avoid loss of yardage?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 23, 2011, 11:13am
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,249
I know you're trolling, but I can't resist...
If you're going to say that his forward progress is stopped on this play, then you could also argue that a quaterback standing motionless in the pocket is also down (after all, his 'forward progress' is stopped if he's just standing there, right?).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mary Struckhoff Announces Resignation from NFHS Staff CecilOne Softball 11 Wed Nov 02, 2011 01:05pm
The obligatory 4th out... bdub712 Baseball 9 Mon May 22, 2006 04:42pm
Off topic - Hail to the .... tomegun Basketball 16 Mon Jan 16, 2006 09:35am
Interesting comments from Mary Struckoff. JRutledge Basketball 49 Wed Jul 27, 2005 03:05pm
LSU Hail Mary: An Infraction? Husker John Football 2 Tue Nov 12, 2002 11:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1