![]() |
|
|||
I guess my question is, who decides their part of the penalty enforcement first? Isn't it Team A since they would have the ball as result of the play (minus the penalties)?
-Josh |
|
|||
You're right, but for the wrong reasons. The team last in possession gets the first choice. Since "B" had team possession when the ball became dead, they get the first choice. (10-2-2)
|
|
|||
I also have to change my mind on changing my mind. If B's BIB ends up being accepted, the enforcement spot is the 20, not the spot of the foul. Basic spot for enforcement after a touchback is the 20. It's a defensive foul (since A has the ball now), so enforcement is from the basic spot.
I pledge to not change my mind again, but I reserve the right to rescind this change of mind. ![]() SO WHAT'S THE CORRECT ANSWER, ALREADY!!!!!!!!!! |
|
|||
The correct answer has been posted in numerous formats.
1. The result of the play is a touchback. 2. B gets first choice of penalty acceptance, since they were last in possession. 3. They will accept the IF penalty, which results automatically in a double foul, and we'll replay the down. 4. If B foolishly declines the penalty for A's foul, A gets a choice and will accept the BIB penalty: 10 yards from the basic spot, which is the A20 after the touchback, so 1/10 for A from the A30.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I don't know if I would say foolishly. The OP never says where the ball was snapped from. If A snapped the ball from B's 10, then I think that I would be declining the IF penalty.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Wanna get away? ![]()
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Wouldn't the for B's foul be enforced under all but one since they were the offense at the time of the foul? I don't see how A can accept the penalty for B's foul and keep the ball.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Sun Sep 18, 2011 at 01:01pm. |
|
|||
Meh. I think you're right.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
1. The result of the play is a TB. 2. B gets first choice since they got the ball with clean hands. 3. If B accepts the IF: we have a double foul. 4. If B declines the IF: we then give A their choice of accepting or declining. 5. If A accepts the IBB the foul is marked off under ABO. 6. If A declines, we have two declined fouls and the result is the TB, A gets a new series as any team does following a TB. The only logical choice for B is to accept the IF and replay the down. 10-2-2. Last edited by kdf5; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 01:16pm. |
|
|||
I think we almost have it.
1. The result of the play is a TB. 2. B gets first choice since they got the ball with clean hands. 3. If B accepts the IF: we have a double foul, if A accepts the BIB. Replay the down. 4. If B declines the IF: we then give A their choice of accepting or declining. 5. If A accepts the BIB the foul is marked off under ABO using the 20 yardline because the result of the play was a touchdown. However, B would get the ball 1st and 10 at the 30 because no foul causes loss of possession! 6. If A declines, we have two declined fouls and the result is the TB, A gets a new series as any team does following a TB. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Enforcement During OT | Redneck Ref | Football | 3 | Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:30pm |
Right Enforcement? | kytank | Football | 61 | Sun Oct 04, 2009 08:04am |
Enforcement | mvp2jeter | Football | 9 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:44am |
Is this a PSK Enforcement? | jrfath | Football | 5 | Fri Sep 03, 2004 05:31pm |
PSK Enforcement | Bubba10Dara | Football | 8 | Wed Oct 01, 2003 03:26pm |