The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
It was an absolutely atrocious call. It makes no difference whether or not he broke the tackle. The ball carrier isn't penalized for the defensive player being a poor tackler. The ball carrier was forced backwards by the defensive player and not under his own power. He can break the tackle in the end zone and run around for 15 seconds back there, but no matter if he is tackled there, he still gets the 2 yard line.

This idea is at the very root of scoring a touchdown when the ball breaks the plane of the goal line. If the ball crosses the line, that is forward progress and the TD is scored. A defensive player can't hit the runner one yard INTO the end zone, drive him out, let him go and have someone else tackle him and avoid the touchdown. Same goes here. Once he got out of the end zone and didn't go back in on his own, the possibility of a safety should have been gone.

Last edited by IlliniBob72; Fri Jan 07, 2011 at 02:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBob72 View Post
He can break the tackle in the end zone and run around for 15 seconds back there, but no matter if he is tackled there, he still gets the 2 yard line.
If he is ruled down at the 2 yard line then the ball is dead immediately. There is no running around for 15 seconds or getting tackled. If he does that he would be open for delay of game foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
If he is ruled down at the 2 yard line then the ball is dead immediately. There is no running around for 15 seconds or getting tackled. If he does that he would be open for delay of game foul.
That's not true. The play doesn't immediately end when forward progress is stopped. The play is over when the official blows the whistle or the runner is down. If a runner gets to the 35 and is hit, driven backwards to the 32, but still fighting to escape (as every runner should), the official should wait until he feels escape isn't going to happen, and blow the whistle. Forward progress is still the 35.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 03:58pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBob72 View Post
The play doesn't immediately end when forward progress is stopped. .
By rule, it most certainly does.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBob72 View Post
The play is over when the official blows the whistle
I guess those coaches who teach to play to the whistle are right after all.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
I guess those coaches who teach to play to the whistle are right after all.
LOL I also said when the runner is down. Our association preaches slow whistles, with good reason. Make sure the ball isn't loose, no inadvertant whistles and things like that. Well, had a case where the runner was down on two knees. After making sure he has the ball still, as I'm bringing the whistle up to kill the play, the ball carrier gets blasted. Of course, I got to hear a bunch of complaints that the whistle hadn't blown yet. Of course I was very patient when I explained that the runner is down when he is down, not when the whistle is blown.

However, when that whistle blows with him in the grasp, then the play is over on the whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 19
Send a message via Yahoo to RedCashions
IMHO One thing I haven't heard anyone mention is why does the Umpire go to the bench to explain the call!? I don't see that he is in any position to provide any insight on the "judgement" used. Guess when in doubt, send your largest crew member over to subliminally intiminate the coach. It's also intersting the official who ran in 12 steps to mark the ball on the 2 blew off Coach Tressel inquiry as to what went on. You would think he would know waht happened.

Last edited by RedCashions; Fri Jan 07, 2011 at 06:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 11:22pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedCashions View Post
IMHO One thing I haven't heard anyone mention is why does the Umpire go to the bench to explain the call!? I don't see that he is in any position to provide any insight on the "judgement" used. Guess when in doubt, send your largest crew member over to subliminally intiminate the coach. It's also intersting the official who ran in 12 steps to mark the ball on the 2 blew off Coach Tressel inquiry as to what went on. You would think he would know waht happened.
On a safety he is on the sideline and probably like most times a coach is asking him what happen and he is telling them what happened. Coaches have no idea most of the time who is the covering official, they ask anyone that is in a striped shirt. The Umpire I am sure knew of the conversation and was relaying what he knew. And if I am not mistaken the OSU side was the chain side where the Umpire would be located by mechanic on the ensuing kickoff.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
One other thing. This idea that the ball carrier should have just gone to the ground is absurd. It isn't his job to know where forward progress is...that is the official's job. The runner got to the 2, so maybe he should have been aware of that, but what if he'd only gotten to the 6-inch line? Surely he should not be expected to drop like he'd been shot on first contact at the 6-inch line! He would have no idea if he'd gotten all the way out or not, so he is going to fight to get out once driven back. As an official, it's my job to know he'd gotten out and that is the spot as his forward progress.

Again, think of it as at the other end of the field. No one would suggest that a running back just drop to the ground when driven back from six inches into the end zone. You'd expect him to keep fighting for the goal line. However, even if driven back, escapes, and tackled at the 5 yard line, it is still a touchdown as soon as the ball's forward progress breaks the plane.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety or No Safety that is the question BrasoFuerte Football 14 Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm
Sugar Bowl Officials irefky Football 3 Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:37pm
TD or Safety? chiefgil Football 3 Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:01am
Sugar Coating footlocker Basketball 25 Wed Feb 25, 2004 11:24am
Sugar Bowl Umpire hab_in_exile Football 3 Wed Jan 07, 2004 09:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1