The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
Nice reverse angle, but I still would've ruled progress before he "broke" the tackle. He's wrapped and driven back 4 yds. That's enough for me.
How far do you let him get driven back before you stop the play? I'm not being sarcastic here. I just want to know how many yards you allow before you say "enough".
And on a side note, this is not a play where cross field mechanics would be necessary. There is no reason the H should need that help on this play.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
Nice reverse angle, but I still would've ruled progress before he "broke" the tackle. He's wrapped and driven back 4 yds. That's enough for me.

How far do you let him get driven back before you stop the play? I'm not being sarcastic here. I just want to know how many yards you allow before you say "enough".
I don't officiate, and in the instant case I'm not sure whether I'd've killed the ball or not, but if I did have to make such rulings, the distance a ballcarrier was driven backward, or for that matter the total distance a ballcarrier was ridden while moving backward under an opponent's force, would not be a factor in my deciding whether the player was "so held as to stop his forward progress". Time would probably figure into it, but not distance.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 01:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
I don't officiate, and in the instant case I'm not sure whether I'd've killed the ball or not, but if I did have to make such rulings, the distance a ballcarrier was driven backward, or for that matter the total distance a ballcarrier was ridden while moving backward under an opponent's force, would not be a factor in my deciding whether the player was "so held as to stop his forward progress". Time would probably figure into it, but not distance.
Not just time, but if you feel he was completely in the grasp of the tackler. That is always going to be a judgment call and why you will not have everyone agrees on this play. And if the player is fighting to get away I am going to be more careful to judge a completed tackle especially when it is only one guy making the tackle. If there were a couple of more people than I would have no problem saying his progress was stopped. But one guy and a physical back I am going to let that go a little longer. No one size fits all, but I do not assume anything with these players.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
It was an absolutely atrocious call. It makes no difference whether or not he broke the tackle. The ball carrier isn't penalized for the defensive player being a poor tackler. The ball carrier was forced backwards by the defensive player and not under his own power. He can break the tackle in the end zone and run around for 15 seconds back there, but no matter if he is tackled there, he still gets the 2 yard line.

This idea is at the very root of scoring a touchdown when the ball breaks the plane of the goal line. If the ball crosses the line, that is forward progress and the TD is scored. A defensive player can't hit the runner one yard INTO the end zone, drive him out, let him go and have someone else tackle him and avoid the touchdown. Same goes here. Once he got out of the end zone and didn't go back in on his own, the possibility of a safety should have been gone.

Last edited by IlliniBob72; Fri Jan 07, 2011 at 02:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBob72 View Post
He can break the tackle in the end zone and run around for 15 seconds back there, but no matter if he is tackled there, he still gets the 2 yard line.
If he is ruled down at the 2 yard line then the ball is dead immediately. There is no running around for 15 seconds or getting tackled. If he does that he would be open for delay of game foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
If he is ruled down at the 2 yard line then the ball is dead immediately. There is no running around for 15 seconds or getting tackled. If he does that he would be open for delay of game foul.
That's not true. The play doesn't immediately end when forward progress is stopped. The play is over when the official blows the whistle or the runner is down. If a runner gets to the 35 and is hit, driven backwards to the 32, but still fighting to escape (as every runner should), the official should wait until he feels escape isn't going to happen, and blow the whistle. Forward progress is still the 35.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 03:58pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBob72 View Post
The play doesn't immediately end when forward progress is stopped. .
By rule, it most certainly does.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by IlliniBob72 View Post
The play is over when the official blows the whistle
I guess those coaches who teach to play to the whistle are right after all.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 07, 2011, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
One other thing. This idea that the ball carrier should have just gone to the ground is absurd. It isn't his job to know where forward progress is...that is the official's job. The runner got to the 2, so maybe he should have been aware of that, but what if he'd only gotten to the 6-inch line? Surely he should not be expected to drop like he'd been shot on first contact at the 6-inch line! He would have no idea if he'd gotten all the way out or not, so he is going to fight to get out once driven back. As an official, it's my job to know he'd gotten out and that is the spot as his forward progress.

Again, think of it as at the other end of the field. No one would suggest that a running back just drop to the ground when driven back from six inches into the end zone. You'd expect him to keep fighting for the goal line. However, even if driven back, escapes, and tackled at the 5 yard line, it is still a touchdown as soon as the ball's forward progress breaks the plane.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety or No Safety that is the question BrasoFuerte Football 14 Sun Sep 02, 2007 05:15pm
Sugar Bowl Officials irefky Football 3 Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:37pm
TD or Safety? chiefgil Football 3 Mon Dec 06, 2004 09:01am
Sugar Coating footlocker Basketball 25 Wed Feb 25, 2004 11:24am
Sugar Bowl Umpire hab_in_exile Football 3 Wed Jan 07, 2004 09:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1