The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 08:13am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Aw jeez, not this again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 396
I did not intend to begin a philosophical debate on the issue, I just could not find a rules reference either way. I know how things work on the field, but I was just looking for something in Fed Speak.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
I only use NCAA rules and for us it's clear that it's illegal. I am curious with the Fed rules if you guys are saying is legal in Fed rules. At what point can a team B player enter the neutral zone? I would think that it would be the same as NCAA where they cannot enter the neutral zone until after the snap. If the ball has not yet left the snappers hands, then the snap is still in progress so any player who swipes at the ball is in the neutral zone. Is that not correct for Fed as well?

Last edited by JasonTX; Wed Nov 17, 2010 at 07:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
I had 2 teams this year try it during the last few kneel downs in 2 contests....told the nose tackle that was attaempting it that if he broke the plain with his hand he'd get pinched for the encroachment. Put an end to it in both cases....FYI these were JV and FR games.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
I only use NCAA rules and for us it's clear that it's illegal. I am curious with the Fed rules if you guys are saying is legal in Fed rules. At what point can a team B player enter the neutral zone? I would think that it would be the same as NCAA where they cannot enter the neutral zone until after the snap. If the ball has not yet left the snappers hands, then the snap is still in progress so any player who swipes at the ball is not in the neutral zone. Is that not correct for Fed as well?
B can enter the neutral zone at the snap. The snap starts when the ball is first moved other than an adjustment. So a B player could hit the ball during the snap but he would have to be extremely fast to do so. Most likely he would have to guess the snap count and not react off seeing the ball move.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 01:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra View Post
B can enter the neutral zone at the snap. The snap starts when the ball is first moved other than an adjustment. So a B player could hit the ball during the snap but he would have to be extremely fast to do so. Most likely he would have to guess the snap count and not react off seeing the ball move.
Could this become the subject of an episode of "Mythbusters?"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottobabble View Post
Could this become the subject of an episode of "Mythbusters?"
That's like trying to catch the dollar bill with your fingers while someone drops it between them when you don't know when.

The limits of hand/eye coordination...
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
I only use NCAA rules and for us it's clear that it's illegal. I am curious with the Fed rules if you guys are saying is legal in Fed rules. At what point can a team B player enter the neutral zone? I would think that it would be the same as NCAA where they cannot enter the neutral zone until after the snap. If the ball has not yet left the snappers hands, then the snap is still in progress so any player who swipes at the ball is in the neutral zone. Is that not correct for Fed as well?
Are you saying that in NCAA players can't enter the NZ until the ball has left the snapper's hands? First I've heard of that in any football anywhere, any time!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 17, 2010, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Are you saying that in NCAA players can't enter the NZ until the ball has left the snapper's hands? First I've heard of that in any football anywhere, any time!
Poor choice in words on my part. Hitting the ball in NCAA before it leaves the snappers hands is offside. You are correct that when the snap begins a player may enter the NZ, but not slap the ball while it's in the process of being snapped.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 18, 2010, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonTX View Post
Poor choice in words on my part. Hitting the ball in NCAA before it leaves the snappers hands is offside. You are correct that when the snap begins a player may enter the NZ, but not slap the ball while it's in the process of being snapped.
That means he can still hit the snapper's hand, so the snap is still not exactly a free pass in NCAA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
snap txrefcshou Football 10 Mon Oct 22, 2007 08:06am
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Snap lds7199 Football 17 Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:33am
snap or no snap hobbes Football 8 Tue Sep 21, 2004 04:36pm
Bad snap ABoselli Football 7 Mon Jan 13, 2003 06:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1