The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2003, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
4th and 9 from K's 5, punter standing in the end zone, gets a high snap and once having secured the ball, is under a heavy rush. While still in the end zone, he throws the ball to the 15 yard line hash, an area occupied by only R players. The pass falls incomplete.

What are R's choices?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 12, 2003, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
NFHS: None. the result is a safety no matter what team-R does.
NCAA: Team-B can take a safety or by declining the penalty, the down will count with the ball placed at the previous spot. Thus Team-B takes over on downs 1/goal from the what was the team-A 5 yard line.

Yes.. this is one of the many, many rule differences.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
NFHS: None. the result is a safety no matter what team-R does.
Correct-o-mundo Theisey. This pass was thrown to and area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver. It might also have just been thrown to save yardage. One way or the other it’s an illegal forward pass.
NF 8-5-2c “it is a safety when: A player on offence comments any foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcement is from a spot in his EZ; or throws an illegal forward pass from his EZ and the penalty is declined in a situation which leaves him in possession at the spot of the illegal pass and with the ball having been forced into the end zone by the passing team “
Safety either way.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 11:52am
JMN JMN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 296
Agree with all above.

How long do you think R might need to consider this one? And remember, DEFER is not an option!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Does NF rules really not give a team the option of refusing a penalty? This seems very strange.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by bigwhistle
Does NF rules really not give a team the option of refusing a penalty? This seems very strange.
TheY can decline it but the results of the play is still a safety. The ball is spotted at the point where the illegal forward pass was thrown (as AB states below)





[Edited by mikesears on Jan 13th, 2003 at 03:03 PM]
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
The reason being is that an illegal pass is not classified as a loose ball play, therefore it is a running play that ends in the end zone (the spot of such pass) - always a safety.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
... and that's why I like the NCAA version better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1