The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Ok, let me try again

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Which is exactly not the same as lining up in the neutral zone.
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
I want to know if there is any official out there that calls this exactly by the book at any level? This is where I see it (a lot), DB or WR wanders from their huddle, Center is already on the ball and but the QB is not under center as he is waiting for the receivers to get into position. At least 10-15 times a night one of the two players wanders across the neutral zone and then backs up into position.

Are you telling me that you would kill the play and penalize 5 yards?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:10pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
what????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).
it is a foul when it happens, not at the snap, and why would you wait for the snap to call it??? assuming you would call it at the snap, I understand that if it isn't big it may not be called...but if it is big enough to call, why on earth would you wait for the snap???
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:29pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews View Post
it is a foul when it happens, not at the snap, and why would you wait for the snap to call it??? assuming you would call it at the snap, I understand that if it isn't big it may not be called...but if it is big enough to call, why on earth would you wait for the snap???
Are you going to flag a receiver for entering into the neutral zone when he is lining up or are you going to at least give him a chance to correct himself?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
if

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Are you going to flag a receiver for entering into the neutral zone when he is lining up or are you going to at least give him a chance to correct himself?

If I am going to flag it, it will be before the snap...if he wanders out, looks in and corrects himself I am going to let it go..but if it warrants a flag it will happen before the snap...receivers get more leeway for sure...
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 05:38pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews View Post
If I am going to flag it, it will be before the snap...if he wanders out, looks in and corrects himself I am going to let it go..but if it warrants a flag it will happen before the snap...receivers get more leeway for sure...
Glad to hear, I think we are more or less in agreement then.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).
Well, we all know I don't call FED, but I was basing what I said on what had been said multiple times here when this question comes up. I thought the interp was that crossing INTO the NZ after the snapper and QB are ready is an immediate foul ... but if they are already there when the snapper and QB are ready, they can still back up before the snap. Thought that was the actual rule, not just the way it's called.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
nope

Following the ready-for-play and after the snapper has placed his
hand(s) on the ball, encroachment occurs if any other player breaks the plane of

the neutral zone
and lining up there first qualifies as breaking it after the snapper has his hands on the ball


that is the fed rule....the NCAA rule is different....
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you"

Last edited by cmathews; Thu Oct 21, 2010 at 04:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Ok so a lot of you guys are giving different explanations: I'm confused.

FOUL AT THE SNAP: If after the ready for play AND after the center has placed his hand on the ball if B is in the NZ at the snap. No foul if defense gets back???

FOUL BEFORE THE SNAP: If B crosses into the NZ after the ready for play AND after the center has placed his hand on the B.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
Ok so a lot of you guys are giving different explanations: I'm confused.

FOUL AT THE SNAP: If after the ready for play AND after the center has placed his hand on the ball if B is in the NZ at the snap. No foul if defense gets back???

FOUL BEFORE THE SNAP: If B crosses into the NZ after the ready for play AND after the center has placed his hand on the B.
Technically if any player is in the neutral zone any time after the RFP and the snapper places his hands on the ball, it is encroachment. What everyone is discussion is how technically you enforce that. For example, if a defender comes out to cover a receiver and he happens to get into the neutral zone, you don't nitpick it. But if he's still there at the snap, you kill the play and flag it. If a defensive lineman takes a position on his side of the NZ but jumps into the NZ before the snap, you will kill the play immediately and flag it. There is no difference in the rules in your two situations but the philosophy and application may be different.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2010, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official View Post
Ok so a lot of you guys are giving different explanations: I'm confused.

FOUL AT THE SNAP: If after the ready for play AND after the center has placed his hand on the ball if B is in the NZ at the snap. No foul if defense gets back???

FOUL BEFORE THE SNAP: If B crosses into the NZ after the ready for play AND after the center has placed his hand on the B.
Your confusion is not caused by the rules, it's a question of understanding how, and when, to apply the rules. The over arching umbrella covering all rules is the question of "Advantage/Disadvantage", which as you gain experience will seem a clearer issue.

Rules are simply the verbiage expressing the intent of how a game is supposed to be played. As you will inevitably understand, selecting the appropriate and proper verbiage to express an intention is at best an inaccurate art form.

How tightly, or technically, you apply specific rules depends substantially on the skill level of the participants, the tightness of the contest and the level of competition. The primary objective is to prevent one team (or player) from gaining an unfair advantage over the opponent. The emphasis and focus on the word unfair is deliberate, as the heart of this game is to take advantage of the opponents weaknesses.

"Consistency" is a word bandied about in relation to officiating. The primary level of consistency required is limited to "within the game you are working", whereas how you may react or respond to a particular action is the same at the beginning, during and through, up to the end and it is applied equally to both teams.

Beyond "that game" consistency applies to how YOU may respond to similar situations in other games, then how YOU may respond in similar situations to the manner and extent others, in your universe, respond to those situations, but the primary focus remains with how consistent YOU are within THAT game you are currently working.

How tightly/technically YOU decide to work is YOUR decision, and you will have all sorts of advice and guidance available helping/hindering you in making those decisions. You will see levels that work well and levels that work poorly and you should consider both in formulating your own standards.

Flexibility and a willingness to adjust are key as circumstances and situations will never be static. There are very few "silver bullets" and one size NEVER fits all.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2010, 05:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
You are playing NCAA rules in Texas...NFHS rule say this is a dead ball foul.
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2010, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodwillRef View Post
You are playing NCAA rules in Texas...NFHS rule say this is a dead ball foul.
I know what my rules state... I thought I was answering as others have before regarding the FED rule (in fact, one before me DID answer that way). Apparently, the rule as given to me here before is wrong, although the interp isn't.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True or not?? MidMadness Basketball 13 Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:56am
Can this be true? DeputyUICHousto Softball 22 Fri Jul 11, 2008 02:26pm
The true end of the end lawump Baseball 15 Thu May 01, 2008 11:03am
AAU can be fun; it's true, it's true Adam Basketball 6 Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:30pm
true or not true? chrs_schuster Basketball 20 Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1