Thread: Is it true?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:48pm
ppaltice ppaltice is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
NFHS, if a player enters the neutral zone after the ball is blown ready for play and the snapper touches the ball, it is a dead ball, encroachment.

We do not have "offsides" in NFHS nor a distinction between the offense and the defense in the neutral zone.

Lined up in the neutal zone after the ready for play and the snapper has touched the ball is a dead ball foul (you do not need to wait for the snap).

Depending on the level, some leniency is sometimes allowed for players lined up in the neutral zone; however, there is no rule to support this leniency.
Reply With Quote