The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Is it true? (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59498-true.html)

rwest Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:37pm

Is it true?
 
I'm not a football official. However, I was at a game and the fans were yelling for offsides on the defense when the ball had not been snapped yet. I was told that if they line up offsides, the officials are to call it immediately. The offsense doesn't have to hike the ball. Is this true?

NFHS ruleset by the way.

Thanks!

bkdow Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:41pm

Lined up in the neutral zone becomes a dead ball at the snap. Crossing into the neutral zone prior to the snap becomes a dead ball immediately.

My sideline last night thought the Nose Tackle was over the line on every play, however they couldn't get the correct angle because I was there on the correct angle. My HL and I talked about it on every time out and it was close but they were crying foul all night.

The angle is very, very important!

rwest Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:43pm

Ok
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 697508)
Lined up in the neutral zone becomes a dead ball at the snap. Crossing into the neutral zone prior to the snap becomes a dead ball immediately.

My sideline last night thought the Nose Tackle was over the line on every play, however they couldn't get the correct angle because I was there on the correct angle. My HL and I talked about it on every time out and it was close but they were crying foul all night.

The angle is very, very important!

So you have to snap the ball to get offsides if the defense lines up in the neutral but it's an immediate dead ball if they MOVE into the neutral zone even if they don't contact an offensive player?

bkdow Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:46pm

yes, in High School, that's correct.

rwest Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:48pm

I'm Shocked I tell You!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 697511)
yes, in High School, that's correct.

I'm shocked that the fans didn't know the rules. Shocked, I tell you! One of the guys we asked is a Lacrosse Coach. Surely he would know the rules! Again, I'm shocked!

Thanks!

ppaltice Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:48pm

NFHS, if a player enters the neutral zone after the ball is blown ready for play and the snapper touches the ball, it is a dead ball, encroachment.

We do not have "offsides" in NFHS nor a distinction between the offense and the defense in the neutral zone.

Lined up in the neutal zone after the ready for play and the snapper has touched the ball is a dead ball foul (you do not need to wait for the snap).

Depending on the level, some leniency is sometimes allowed for players lined up in the neutral zone; however, there is no rule to support this leniency.

bkdow Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:51pm

I guess I am leinent...on both sides of the ball.

ppaltice Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 697510)
So you have to snap the ball to get offsides if the defense lines up in the neutral but it's an immediate dead ball if they MOVE into the neutral zone even if they don't contact an offensive player?

It is a dead-ball encroachment in both cases. Rule 7-1-6: Following the ready for play and after the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball, encroachment ocurs if any other player breaks the plane of the neutral zone.

MD Longhorn Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ppaltice (Post 697515)
It is a dead-ball encroachment in both cases. Rule 7-1-6: Following the ready for play and after the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball, encroachment ocurs if any other player breaks the plane of the neutral zone.

Which is exactly not the same as lining up in the neutral zone.

rwest Thu Oct 21, 2010 03:58pm

Ok, let me try again
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 697517)
Which is exactly not the same as lining up in the neutral zone.

Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?

bkdow Thu Oct 21, 2010 04:01pm

I want to know if there is any official out there that calls this exactly by the book at any level? This is where I see it (a lot), DB or WR wanders from their huddle, Center is already on the ball and but the QB is not under center as he is waiting for the receivers to get into position. At least 10-15 times a night one of the two players wanders across the neutral zone and then backs up into position.

Are you telling me that you would kill the play and penalize 5 yards?

MD Longhorn Thu Oct 21, 2010 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 697518)
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?

Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.

Welpe Thu Oct 21, 2010 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 697521)
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.

Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).

cmathews Thu Oct 21, 2010 04:23pm

what????
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 697522)
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).

it is a foul when it happens, not at the snap, and why would you wait for the snap to call it??? assuming you would call it at the snap, I understand that if it isn't big it may not be called...but if it is big enough to call, why on earth would you wait for the snap???

MD Longhorn Thu Oct 21, 2010 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 697522)
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).

Well, we all know I don't call FED, but I was basing what I said on what had been said multiple times here when this question comes up. I thought the interp was that crossing INTO the NZ after the snapper and QB are ready is an immediate foul ... but if they are already there when the snapper and QB are ready, they can still back up before the snap. Thought that was the actual rule, not just the way it's called.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1