![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Ok
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I'm Shocked I tell You!
I'm shocked that the fans didn't know the rules. Shocked, I tell you! One of the guys we asked is a Lacrosse Coach. Surely he would know the rules! Again, I'm shocked!
Thanks!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
It is a dead-ball encroachment in both cases. Rule 7-1-6: Following the ready for play and after the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball, encroachment ocurs if any other player breaks the plane of the neutral zone.
|
|
|||
|
Which is exactly not the same as lining up in the neutral zone.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Ok, let me try again
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I want to know if there is any official out there that calls this exactly by the book at any level? This is where I see it (a lot), DB or WR wanders from their huddle, Center is already on the ball and but the QB is not under center as he is waiting for the receivers to get into position. At least 10-15 times a night one of the two players wanders across the neutral zone and then backs up into position.
Are you telling me that you would kill the play and penalize 5 yards? |
|
|||
|
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
what????
it is a foul when it happens, not at the snap, and why would you wait for the snap to call it??? assuming you would call it at the snap, I understand that if it isn't big it may not be called...but if it is big enough to call, why on earth would you wait for the snap???
__________________
The officials lament, or the coaches excuses as it were: "I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was going to blame you" |
|
|||
|
Well, we all know I don't call FED, but I was basing what I said on what had been said multiple times here when this question comes up. I thought the interp was that crossing INTO the NZ after the snapper and QB are ready is an immediate foul ... but if they are already there when the snapper and QB are ready, they can still back up before the snap. Thought that was the actual rule, not just the way it's called.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
You are playing NCAA rules in Texas...NFHS rule say this is a dead ball foul.
__________________
Every game is a big game
|
|
|||
|
I know what my rules state... I thought I was answering as others have before regarding the FED rule (in fact, one before me DID answer that way). Apparently, the rule as given to me here before is wrong, although the interp isn't.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't know whether the current Fed mechanic in the case of players returning to their side is to delay the RFP until they're back. If so, then the last case I mentioned above should not occur. Officials then have to decide whether their delay is within the bounds allowed or a delay of game foul by the lagging player. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| True or not?? | MidMadness | Basketball | 13 | Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:56am |
| Can this be true? | DeputyUICHousto | Softball | 22 | Fri Jul 11, 2008 02:26pm |
| The true end of the end | lawump | Baseball | 15 | Thu May 01, 2008 11:03am |
| AAU can be fun; it's true, it's true | Adam | Basketball | 6 | Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:30pm |
| true or not true? | chrs_schuster | Basketball | 20 | Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:32pm |