The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
Lined up in the neutral zone becomes a dead ball at the snap. Crossing into the neutral zone prior to the snap becomes a dead ball immediately.

My sideline last night thought the Nose Tackle was over the line on every play, however they couldn't get the correct angle because I was there on the correct angle. My HL and I talked about it on every time out and it was close but they were crying foul all night.

The angle is very, very important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
Lined up in the neutral zone becomes a dead ball at the snap. Crossing into the neutral zone prior to the snap becomes a dead ball immediately.

My sideline last night thought the Nose Tackle was over the line on every play, however they couldn't get the correct angle because I was there on the correct angle. My HL and I talked about it on every time out and it was close but they were crying foul all night.

The angle is very, very important!
So you have to snap the ball to get offsides if the defense lines up in the neutral but it's an immediate dead ball if they MOVE into the neutral zone even if they don't contact an offensive player?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
yes, in High School, that's correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I'm Shocked I tell You!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
yes, in High School, that's correct.
I'm shocked that the fans didn't know the rules. Shocked, I tell you! One of the guys we asked is a Lacrosse Coach. Surely he would know the rules! Again, I'm shocked!

Thanks!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
So you have to snap the ball to get offsides if the defense lines up in the neutral but it's an immediate dead ball if they MOVE into the neutral zone even if they don't contact an offensive player?
It is a dead-ball encroachment in both cases. Rule 7-1-6: Following the ready for play and after the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball, encroachment ocurs if any other player breaks the plane of the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
It is a dead-ball encroachment in both cases. Rule 7-1-6: Following the ready for play and after the snapper has placed his hand(s) on the ball, encroachment ocurs if any other player breaks the plane of the neutral zone.
Which is exactly not the same as lining up in the neutral zone.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Ok, let me try again

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Which is exactly not the same as lining up in the neutral zone.
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
I want to know if there is any official out there that calls this exactly by the book at any level? This is where I see it (a lot), DB or WR wanders from their huddle, Center is already on the ball and but the QB is not under center as he is waiting for the receivers to get into position. At least 10-15 times a night one of the two players wanders across the neutral zone and then backs up into position.

Are you telling me that you would kill the play and penalize 5 yards?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 04:10pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
Quite technically it is a foul immediately, not at the snap but few officials will call it that way (which is a good thing).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2010, 05:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Already answered, but no. Lined up in the NZ is a foul at the snap.
You are playing NCAA rules in Texas...NFHS rule say this is a dead ball foul.
__________________
Every game is a big game
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 22, 2010, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Prior to the ready for play signal, if the Defensive Tackle is lined up in the neutral zone and does not move, is it encroachment once the ready for play has been signaled AND the center has placed their hands on the ball?
Before the ball is ready for play, there is no neutral zone. If teams have been lining up without a huddle, it's not uncommon for them to start lining up before the ball is ready for play, in which case they may not see where the neutral zone is going to be, so they have a chance to get onside once the ball is spotted. Otherwise, it's common after the ball is RFP for players to be transiently in or on the wrong side of the neutral zone when they enter via substitution, or, if team A has been snapping quickly, still returning after the previous play.

I don't know whether the current Fed mechanic in the case of players returning to their side is to delay the RFP until they're back. If so, then the last case I mentioned above should not occur. Officials then have to decide whether their delay is within the bounds allowed or a delay of game foul by the lagging player.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
NFHS, if a player enters the neutral zone after the ball is blown ready for play and the snapper touches the ball, it is a dead ball, encroachment.

We do not have "offsides" in NFHS nor a distinction between the offense and the defense in the neutral zone.

Lined up in the neutal zone after the ready for play and the snapper has touched the ball is a dead ball foul (you do not need to wait for the snap).

Depending on the level, some leniency is sometimes allowed for players lined up in the neutral zone; however, there is no rule to support this leniency.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 21, 2010, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
I guess I am leinent...on both sides of the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True or not?? MidMadness Basketball 13 Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:56am
Can this be true? DeputyUICHousto Softball 22 Fri Jul 11, 2008 02:26pm
The true end of the end lawump Baseball 15 Thu May 01, 2008 11:03am
AAU can be fun; it's true, it's true Adam Basketball 6 Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:30pm
true or not true? chrs_schuster Basketball 20 Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1