The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2010, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
If I am seeing this correctly, the kicking team should not have been able to advance it anyway. It should have been blown dead when they recovered a muffed kick. Am I missing something here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2010, 12:12pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
If I am seeing this correctly, the kicking team should not have been able to advance it anyway. It should have been blown dead when they recovered a muffed kick. Am I missing something here?
You are missing something, bkdow ... it was B (or R) who recovered and advanced the kick. A (or K) had merely touched it prior to going 10 yards.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2010, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
ah, yes, thank you!! Sorry about that!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
If I am seeing this correctly, the kicking team should not have been able to advance it anyway. It should have been blown dead when they recovered a muffed kick. Am I missing something here?
That's what I was thinking. There's really not enough information here, but assuming K was the one guilty of first touching, they had to have touched it before it went 10 yds, and that's fine - no penalty. But to pick it up and run with it means they gained possession, and at that point should have been ruled a dead ball. If that's what happened, then it should have been R's ball at the spot of first touching, right?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 18, 2010, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Never mind - i'm all confused with the A&B thing instead of K&R.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 50
Related question

K kicks onside but puts such a spin on the ball that it travels backward. The ball is rolling along on K's 35 yard line and R attempts to pick it up. Luckily, he recovered it. But if he didn't could K have recovered and gained possession?

It seems like they could have but I was unsure because the recovery was behind the free kick line.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
6-1-5: "Any K player may recover the ball before it goes beyond R’s free-kick line if it is touched first by any receiver."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First touching mbyron Football 5 Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:14pm
Touching The Rim?? jmaellis Basketball 3 Sat Dec 22, 2007 12:02pm
Touching the Rim fonzzy07 Basketball 3 Sat Jan 20, 2007 01:48am
PSK and first touching..... chris s Football 4 Mon Sep 15, 2003 09:45pm
Touching the bag Brent Baseball 2 Mon Jun 18, 2001 10:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1