The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   first touching (https://forum.officiating.com/football/59395-first-touching.html)

yankeesfan Sun Oct 17, 2010 07:47pm

first touching
 
very interesting situation. we have a tied ball game with 6 seconds to go in the game. the score is tied 14-14 and team A in kicking off. the kick is squibed and first touched by A within the 10 yards, team B picks up the ball and runs all the way to the 10 yard line and the time expires. the clock started when B picked up the ball. is there any way that B could take the ball at the spot of first touching and have an untimed down or do we go to overtime? since there is no penalty for first touching and the clock expired i would think that regulation is over. although first touching has some elements of a penalty.

kdf5 Sun Oct 17, 2010 07:58pm

Game over.

mbyron Mon Oct 18, 2010 07:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 696755)
very interesting situation. we have a tied ball game with 6 seconds to go in the game. the score is tied 14-14 and team A in kicking off. the kick is squibed and first touched by A within the 10 yards, team B picks up the ball and runs all the way to the 10 yard line and the time expires. the clock started when B picked up the ball. is there any way that B could take the ball at the spot of first touching and have an untimed down or do we go to overtime? since there is no penalty for first touching and the clock expired i would think that regulation is over. although first touching has some elements of a penalty.

KDF is right: the game is over (or headed for OT).

First touching is a "violation" but not a foul. So yes, it shares some dimensions of fouls, including a kind of penalty. But the relevant part of the untimed down rule (3-3-3a) makes it clear that we play an untimed down only when the penalty for a foul is accepted.

Since first touching is not a foul, 3-3-3a does not apply.

JugglingReferee Mon Oct 18, 2010 07:23am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 696755)
very interesting situation. we have a tied ball game with 6 seconds to go in the game. the score is tied 14-14 and team A in kicking off. the kick is squibed and first touched by A within the 10 yards, team B picks up the ball and runs all the way to the 10 yard line and the time expires. the clock started when B picked up the ball. is there any way that B could take the ball at the spot of first touching and have an untimed down or do we go to overtime? since there is no penalty for first touching and the clock expired i would think that regulation is over. although first touching has some elements of a penalty.

CANADIAN RULING:

If B declines the Illegal Touching (first touching before the ball went 10 yards), go to overtime.

If B accepts the IT, back 5 and re-kick.

The clock should start when A touched the ball, even though it was an illegal touch.

bkdow Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:08pm

If I am seeing this correctly, the kicking team should not have been able to advance it anyway. It should have been blown dead when they recovered a muffed kick. Am I missing something here?

RadioBlue Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 696861)
If I am seeing this correctly, the kicking team should not have been able to advance it anyway. It should have been blown dead when they recovered a muffed kick. Am I missing something here?

You are missing something, bkdow ... it was B (or R) who recovered and advanced the kick. A (or K) had merely touched it prior to going 10 yards. ;)

bkdow Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:12pm

ah, yes, thank you!! Sorry about that!

BroKen62 Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bkdow (Post 696861)
If I am seeing this correctly, the kicking team should not have been able to advance it anyway. It should have been blown dead when they recovered a muffed kick. Am I missing something here?

That's what I was thinking. There's really not enough information here, but assuming K was the one guilty of first touching, they had to have touched it before it went 10 yds, and that's fine - no penalty. But to pick it up and run with it means they gained possession, and at that point should have been ruled a dead ball. If that's what happened, then it should have been R's ball at the spot of first touching, right?

BroKen62 Mon Oct 18, 2010 12:15pm

Never mind - i'm all confused with the A&B thing instead of K&R.

john_faz Tue Oct 19, 2010 11:24am

Related question
 
K kicks onside but puts such a spin on the ball that it travels backward. The ball is rolling along on K's 35 yard line and R attempts to pick it up. Luckily, he recovered it. But if he didn't could K have recovered and gained possession?

It seems like they could have but I was unsure because the recovery was behind the free kick line.

Any thoughts?

mbyron Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:22pm

6-1-5: "Any K player may recover the ball before it goes beyond R’s free-kick line if it is touched first by any receiver."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1